Edgar

Duelist
  • Content count

    15
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 You're a random

About Edgar

  • Rank
    Gesticulator

Profile Information

  • Gender Male
  1. Thanks, everyone. This was helpful.
  2. I'm gearing up to enter academia and was looking to make a simple personal website where I can put a CV and post links to various journal publications.   Most people I know in similar circumstances have basic sites through blogspot or something similar. I am looking to instead create something basic from scratch with my own domain name.   Much of my current research involves mathematical logic, but the only remotely relevant applied programs I have used are MATLAB and Mathematica.   Given my ignorance, I have a few questions:   1. Where and how can I register a domain name? 2. What should I expect from related hosting fees (if any)? 3. What languages ought I learn for this purpose?   My goal is to make a trivially basic site that I can gradually expand over time as my research progresses.
  3. I find it curious that the rulings for the timing of Doomcal's effect against Warrior Lady's seem to imply that Black Luster Soldier's effect could trigger even if the monster that it defeats during Damage Calculation never hits the graveyard. I had previously assumed that a monster that lost during Damage Calculation then lingered between "After Damage Calculation" and the "End of the Damage Step" and were considered merely "destined to have been destroyed by battle" rather than already "destroyed by battle," since it would not yet have been literally in the graveyard despite the fact that destruction would typically technically be a form of a card's sending to the graveyard. I suppose that in actuality it is theoretically then possible that a card could lose in battle but then leave the field via a card cost/effect after damage calculation without affecting Luster's ability to attack again. I guess Doomcal would negate the activation of Luster's effect though, were it to be activated, which, since optional, would not be mandatory like Doomcal's. Then Luster would be destroyed by the card effect.
  4. I do like Soul Taker. I was just about to post a thread on that card. It's surprisingly useful for making cards like The Shining and Lightpulsar Dragon miss the timing on their effects on top of the already nice spot removal.
  5. I like it, but I can only see it used reliably as a sided response if decks running the full gauntlet of mystical space typhoons and night beams become popular. Although, I suppose it has some merit against Inzektors, if they're still around after the next ban list, right after this finally hits the TCG.
  6. Yeah, I suppose I could have worded that a bit more cleanly, but that's just the way I rationalize it in my head. You have to destroy the old card in order to activate or set the new one, which makes it feel like a cost, albeit not technically being one. I always found it weird that the old card has to be "destroyed" rather than "sent" though. It just feels strange, since when you tribute a monster, you don't destroy it, yet removing your field spell in order to play another counts as destruction. Eh. I guess we have Geartown to thank for that.
  7. I was under the impression that for someone to activate a new Field Spell if the same person already has one on the field, since there is only one Field Spell Zone, one must first destroy the prior one as a sort of pseudo-activation cost in order to activate the new Field Spell, and that then, upon activation and prior to any other card effects being chained, the continuous effects of Malefic monsters "notice" that there isn't a new Field Card on the field and apply their destruction effects, since this new Field Card wouldn't "count" until it resolves successfully, yet the continuous effects "check" the game state constantly.
  8. I like that you max out on Emergency Calls. I always found the extra speed it gives to help with set-up for fusion plays. They also serve as excellent bait for blind MST's if you draw too many of them. I've always personally preferred Dimensional Prison to Bottomless Trap Hole, however. I find it to be much more useful for a deck like Heroes that isn't always brimming with huge monsters. It's also much, much better off the top-deck, at least in my experience.
  9. Typically, I would side Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror, but I myself have been siding Really Eternal Rest as well in my Chaos build. I treat it as a side-deck replacement against Inzektors for decks that run a high amount of dark monsters natively (anything beyond Tour Guides and Sangan, basically).
  10. Hey, I'm Edgar, introducing myself as is apparently the thing to do around these parts. I've been lurking DuelistGroundz for awhile now, finally making an account once I started forming questions in my head(s) that I only trusted to get quality answers from here. There are only so many times you can Google a rulings question only to see nothing but Pojo links. (Bleh, I hate that place.) Anyway, I started seriously playing YGO around New Year's and quickly became a junkie. I'm a rulings nerd, so I constantly look to try to make sense of the things that Konami spits out for individual cards, and the posts here have helped me tremendously in that department. Things like that new chart that Kevin & Co. put out with regards to the Artist Formerly Known as Priority excite me more than they have any right to. 'Same with Atem's charts. Those things are heavenly. Anyway, I like building and playing rogue decks namely, chaos. I, unlike Kel, also hate Orange Soda. Videos supporting it really make me cringe. I hate people that post them. [media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0lTBUDBq8xw[/media]
  11. If we look at what has been previously posted about the Damage Step, [quote name='Pharaoh Atem' timestamp='1297220679' post='2762182'] [3] The Damage Step The Damage Step has confused people for a long time now. It's not all that complex unless we let it be. The Damage Step has a Start, an End, and several things that happen in between. I'll make a list. These are NOT steps, nor are they "parts of the Damage Step." They are THINGS THAT HAPPEN in a specific order, nothing more. These are the bare bones of the Damage Step. (a) Start of the Damage Step This one's nothing more than what it's called. (b) "Until the end of this Damage Step, flip all involved face-down monsters face-up." This one's usually called "Flip face-down monsters face-up". The problem with that description is that it makes it seem like the "flip face-up" thing is something that only happens here. With the creation of the card "Gemini Counter", it's now possible to flip a monster face-down again after it's flipped face-up because of this rule. So, I changed how I describe it; because of Gemini Counter's answer to what we do if a mon's flipped face-down later. We flip it right back up again. © Damage Calculation Simple stuff. This is the actual "battle." Compare stats of involved monsters, inflict battle damage to players if necessary, and note which monsters are considered destroyed by the battle; said monsters are not sent to the Graveyard immediately. (d) End of the Damage Step It's what it sounds like. This is the time where monsters destroyed by the battle are sent to the Graveyard by that battle. The Damage Step only gets complex when effects are added in the mix. Some effects activate at the start of the damage step. Some activate when a card is flipped face-up. Some are triggered when a card is flipped face-up, but wait to activate. (FLIP: Effects and other effects that work similarly to them activate after damage calculation.) Some activate before damage calculation. Some of these effects can activate at any time from the start of the damage step up until damage calculation; others can activate only after face-down involved cards are flipped. Some activate during damage calculation. Some activate when battle damage is inflicted. One of these effects - "Flashbang" - activates before all the others. Some activate after damage calculation. "Red Dragon Archfiend", "D.D. Warrior Lady", and the effects of monsters triggered by being flipped face-up (FLIP: Effect or not) activate here. Some activate at the end of the damage step. [/quote] it would appear as though once damage calculation occurs at (c), your Light and Darkness Dragon would still be on the field, waiting to be sent to the graveyard, Gellenduo's effect would activate here as its own chain, I'm bit sketchy on this part, but I believe that Light and Darkness Dragon's effect would not be able to be activated at this time since it's considered "destroyed," so to speak, allowing Gellenduo's effect to resolve, sending it to the graveyard. Then after the chain resolves and sends Gellenduo to the graveyard,the Damage Step ends at (d), and LaDD is sent to the graveyard, triggering LaDD's effect which can target Gellenduo in the grave at activation because it was previously destroyed.
  12. I'm always for recycling BLS, but the extra deck seems to have a bit too much versatility in the underused area of rank 3's that could otherwise be useful in adding more Synchros for the triple Ravens you run, which probably get used more often that that with Beckoning Light factored in. Perhaps a Stardust Dragon or (my personal favorite tech) Dark End Dragon?
  13. This subtle ruling can really make for some strange-looking chains. As I've previously theorized, Merriam-Webster and Konami appear to have entirely different definitions of the word "simultaneous." Ugh. This new definition of how Trigger Effects chain is certainly a tad easier to apply, albeit less sensical, to me at least. It takes the entire notion of time out of it. Perhaps this is for the best. It does help to eliminate SEGOC questions, though. And by "SEGOC," I apparently now just mean "EGOC."
  14. I would consider running a Wind-Up Zenmaister in the Extra if you're running triple Drago. He's your only option for a generic rank 4 XYZ play to get over a problem monster if you have a Drago (or two) on the field jamming your plays, since you can't legally special summon Utopia or Maestroke using a Drago, even if it is used as a material. I would assume it be more useful than Black-Winged Dragon. 'Some food for thought.
  15. I've really only been siding Bottomless alongside Dimensional Prison lately to counter aggressive beatdown decks and Chaos Dragons (or occasionally Wind-Ups), but even then it feels superfluous compared to Dimensional Prison half of the time. I'd only ever run it in an obnoxiously trap-heavy deck already maxed out on D-Prisons.