Oh_The_Irony

Monarch vs. Veiler vs. Bottomless

31 posts in this topic

I tribute summon Raiza the Storm Monarch and target my opponent's face-up Thunder King Rai-Oh. My opponent responds with chaining Effect Veiler to Raiza, then chaining Bottomless Trap Hole. I tell him that Raiza will get it's effect since it is no longer face-up on the field for Veiler to stop it's effect. He disagrees, so I ask Chief to help us with the rulings dispute, and he sides with the opponent.

I just want to make sure this is the correct ruling, and if so how it is different from attempting to Veiler a Lonefire Blossom that has been called priority with.

Thanks.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I tribute summon Raiza the Storm Monarch and target my opponent's face-up Thunder King Rai-Oh. My opponent responds with chaining Effect Veiler to Raiza, then chaining Bottomless Trap Hole. I tell him that Raiza will get it's effect since it is no longer face-up on the field for Veiler to stop it's effect. He disagrees, so I ask Chief to help us with the rulings dispute, and he sides with the opponent.

I just want to make sure this is the correct ruling, and if so how it is different from attempting to Veiler a Lonefire Blossom that has been called priority with.

Thanks.

Veiler only negates the effect of a monster that resolves on the field. Since Raiza is removed from play when Raiza's effect resolves, his effect is no longer negated by Veiler.

3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I tribute summon Raiza the Storm Monarch and target my opponent's face-up Thunder King Rai-Oh. My opponent responds with chaining Effect Veiler to Raiza, then chaining Bottomless Trap Hole. I tell him that Raiza will get it's effect since it is no longer face-up on the field for Veiler to stop it's effect. He disagrees, so I ask Chief to help us with the rulings dispute, and he sides with the opponent.

I just want to make sure this is the correct ruling, and if so how it is different from attempting to Veiler a Lonefire Blossom that has been called priority with.

Thanks.

Veiler only negates the effect of a monster that resolves on the field. Since Raiza is removed from play when Raiza's effect resolves, his effect is no longer negated by Veiler.

Alright, thanks. That's what I thought.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Chief is usually pretty good with his rulings o.o

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

he could do bottom then veiler

Nope. It won't be negated.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

he could do bottom then veiler

Nope. It won't be negated.

I'm pretty sure it will... if he activates bottomless to the summon then chains veiler afterwards veiler will have already resolved once it gets removed and it activates on the field so it gets negated (kind of like if you negate a lonefire and then he tributes it for its effect)

-1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

he could do bottom then veiler

Nope. It won't be negated.

I'm pretty sure it will... if he activates bottomless to the summon then chains veiler afterwards veiler will have already resolved once it gets removed and it activates on the field so it gets negated (kind of like if you negate a lonefire and then he tributes it for its effect)

From: William Falta

Sent: 12/1/10 2:35 PM EST

To: us-ygorules@konami.com

Subject: Multiple Effect Veilers

Consider the following chain:

Chain Link 1: “Caius the Shadow Monarch”

Chain Link 2: “Effect Veiler”

Chain Link 3: “Book of Moon”

Chain Link 4: “Effect Veiler”

1) In this case, would the effect of “Effect Veiler” negate the effect of Caius in this chain?

2) Would this be the same result if “Forbidden Chalice” were used instead of “Effect Veiler?”

3) If “Compulsory Evacuation Device” were used instead of “Book of Moon,” would it have the same result?

From: us-ygorules@konami.com

Sent: 1/25/11 4:37 PM EST

To: William Falta

Subject: Multiple Effect Veilers

1) No

2) The monster needs to be face-up and being negated when its own effect resolves for either card.

3) It would

The Lonefire situation is different, too. You're ACTIVATING an Ignition Effect while it is under "Effect Veiler's" effect. In this case, a Trigger Effect activated, and is then banished from the field before it resolves (so it's not affected by Veiler).

4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I see where I made my mistake. Sorry I got this wrong Irony.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

he could do bottom then veiler

Nope. It won't be negated.

I'm pretty sure it will... if he activates bottomless to the summon then chains veiler afterwards veiler will have already resolved once it gets removed and it activates on the field so it gets negated (kind of like if you negate a lonefire and then he tributes it for its effect)

From: William Falta

Sent: 12/1/10 2:35 PM EST

To: us-ygorules@konami.com

Subject: Multiple Effect Veilers

Consider the following chain:

Chain Link 1: “Caius the Shadow Monarch”

Chain Link 2: “Effect Veiler”

Chain Link 3: “Book of Moon”

Chain Link 4: “Effect Veiler”

1) In this case, would the effect of “Effect Veiler” negate the effect of Caius in this chain?

2) Would this be the same result if “Forbidden Chalice” were used instead of “Effect Veiler?”

3) If “Compulsory Evacuation Device” were used instead of “Book of Moon,” would it have the same result?

From: us-ygorules@konami.com

Sent: 1/25/11 4:37 PM EST

To: William Falta

Subject: Multiple Effect Veilers

1) No

2) The monster needs to be face-up and being negated when its own effect resolves for either card.

3) It would

The Lonefire situation is different, too. You're ACTIVATING an Ignition Effect while it is under "Effect Veiler's" effect. In this case, a Trigger Effect activated, and is then banished from the field before it resolves (so it's not affected by Veiler).

Ahh okay didn't know there was a difference between ignition effects and trigger effect for veiler, learn something new every day I suppose.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ahh okay didn't know there was a difference between ignition effects and trigger effect for veiler, learn something new every day I suppose.

That's not even it. If I use my Coelacanth's effect and you BTH then Veiler it, it'll still work, too.

I only stressed Ignition to say that it applies and activates on the field. When you use BTH, the card isn't affected by Veiler anymore.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ahh okay didn't know there was a difference between ignition effects and trigger effect for veiler, learn something new every day I suppose.

That's not even it. If I use my Coelacanth's effect and you BTH then Veiler it, it'll still work, too.

I only stressed Ignition to say that it applies and activates on the field. When you use BTH, the card isn't affected by Veiler anymore.

Because when it activates it's not on the field to be negated even tho it was resolved while on the field, kk, thanks for the extra explanation

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's the thing.

I've said before that Veiler negates all effects of its target monster that activate or apply on the field.

A more precise way of saying this is that Veiler negates all effects of its target that are activated or applied for the duration of time that Veiler's own effect applies to its target.

When you activate an effect, and Veiler is Chained to that effect, the effect was activated BEFORE Veiler was activated, meaning that the effect was activated BEFORE Veiler's effect was applied to its target,

This means that Veiler can negate said effect only if said effect tries to apply at a point during that application, because the activation didn't occur during the application.

Taking the monster off the field before its effect resolves means that Veiler's target doesn't see an effect belonging to its target trying to activate or apply.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ruling:

If the targeted monster is no longer face-up on the field when Effect Veiler's effect resolves, the targeted monster's effect(s) will not be negated.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ruling:

If the targeted monster is no longer face-up on the field when Effect Veiler's effect resolves, the targeted monster's effect(s) will not be negated.

if the chain is this

cl1: caius

cl2: bottom

cl3: veiler

isn't caius face up when veiler's effect resolves?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ruling:

If the targeted monster is no longer face-up on the field when Effect Veiler's effect resolves, the targeted monster's effect(s) will not be negated.

if the chain is this

cl1: caius

cl2: bottom

cl3: veiler

isn't caius face up when veiler's effect resolves?

read all the other posts :S

caius is removed by bottomless, then his effect activates since he is cl1. It doesn't matter when veiler resolves, it matters when caius resolves

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

following chain happens

caius is summoned

CL1: Caius

CL2: Bottomless

CL3: Effect veiler

does caius get negated?

I know that if

CL1: Caius

CL2: Veiler

CL3: Bottomless

caius is not negated since veiler cannot target caius.

Like · · Unsubscribe · 8 hours ago

Paul Kite Yes Caius will be negated in the first scenario, but not in the second. A monster which Effect Veiler's effect has successfully resolved upon will resolve without effect that activates on the field no matter where the monster goes before resolution.

8 hours ago · Like

Kirsch Mackey What about the case with Book of Moon in the chain where Bottomless Trap Hole is? I remember reading that the monster must be face up on the field and Veiler must have resolved during resolution of the monster's effect in order for it to be negated.

6 hours ago · Like

Paul Kite If we replace Bottomless with Book of Moon it doesn't change. In the first situation Caius still has his effect negated and in the second Veiler's effect resolves unsuccessfully.

6 hours ago · Like

John Danker ‎(Ruling:) If the effect of Effect Veiler resolves, and the targeted monster is then flipped face-down, its effect(s) will no longer be negated, even if it is flipped face-up again later that turn.

about an hour ago · Like · 1 person

Barry Huang john danker: can u answer my original question? is paul right?

about an hour ago · Like

Ray Shen Yes Paul is right.

Effect Veiler resolves before Bottomless so Caius will be negated before it will be Banished by Bottomless.

27 minutes ago · Like

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

John Danker

Lets see if I can answer this giving examples:

Example #1.

CL1: Caius CL2: BTH CL3: Veiler=Caius's effect is negated.

Example #2.

CL1: Caius CL2: BOM CL3: Veiler = Caius's effect resolves corretly.

Example #3...

CL1: Caius, CL2: CED, CL3 Veiler = Caius's effect is negated.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Did we all misread that email?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So I was right? This is confusing lol

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Effect Veiler's rulings aren't written in a very clear and concise manner that clearly defines all those scenarios.

Removed face up in chain after Veiler resolves=negated

Put face down in a chain after Veiler resolves= not negated

Removed face up in chain before Veiler resolves=not negated

3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So I was right? This is confusing lol

You're right, it is confusing. The official rulings for Effect Veiler could certainly have been more complete and descriptive.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Did we all misread that email?

You mean the one concerning Compulsory Evacuation Device? If that's what you mean then no, you didn't misread the e-mail, the e-mail had a typo in in and rather than writing "would" was intended to be written as "wouldn't"

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.