Morleh

Interested in Cardfight!! Vanguard? Click Here!

51 posts in this topic

This is the manual you get from buying a Trial Deck. It's a visual guide that contains all the basics for you to start playing!
Vanguard Quick Manual (Part 1) / (Part 2)

Building a Deck:

  • A deck must have exactly 50 cards.
  • A deck may not contain more than 4 of any individual card.
  • A deck must contain exactly 16 Trigger Units.
  • A deck may only contain up to 4 cards with the Heal trigger.

Game Layout:

Your Deck should be placed on one side of the game area. When you Draw a card, you take the top card from your deck into your hand. If you have no cards in the deck, you lose.

The Drop Zone (discard pile, synonymous to YGO's "Graveyard") should be a separate pile of cards. When you Retire a card, you move it to the Drop Zone. When you Heal Damage, you move cards from the Damage Zone to the Drop Zone.

The Damage Zone is a small stack of discarded cards that must be kept separate from the Drop Zone. Cards in the Damage Zone represent damage to your Vanguard. If there are ever six or more cards in your Damage Zone, you lose the game.

The main play area consists of two rows of three spaces. The row nearer the opponent is the Front Row and the other row is the Back Row. The Vanguard Circle is the middle space of the Front Row. It may hold multiple cards in a stack. The top card in the Vanguard Circle is your Vanguard. Any cards stacked below it are your Soul. Your Vanguard is not part of your Soul. If there is only one card in the Vanguard Circle, that card is your Vanguard and there are no cards in your Soul.

The other five spaces in the main area are Rear-Guard Circles. These can usually only hold a single card each.

The Trigger Zone is a temporary area where cards are placed while their effects are being resolved. Its location is unimportant. If you are making a Drive Check, you move cards from your Deck to the Trigger Zone and from there to your hand. If you are making a Damage Check, you move cards from your Deck to the Trigger Zone and from there to the Damage Zone.

The Guardian Circle is a temporary area where cards are placed during combat. It is normally located in front of the Front Row. Cards are played here during combat and then retired to the Drop Zone.

Starting a Game:

1. Each player chooses a Grade 0 unit from their deck and places it face-down on the Vanguard Circle. That card will be their first Vanguard.
2. Decide randomly who goes first (there is no "choice"; if you roll higher than me when we roll for high, you must go first). The player who goes first cannot attack on their first turn.
3. Both players shuffle their deck and draw 5 cards.
4. Mulligan: If a player doesn't like their hand, they can place any number of cards from their hand back into the deck, reshuffle the deck, then draw new cards until they have 5 cards in their hand again. The new hand must be kept.
5. Both players, at the same time, turn their Vanguards face-up.

Victory Conditions:

To win a Cardfight!! Vanguard match you must inflict 6 damage to your opponent's Vanguard. Damage to their Vanguard is represented by cards in their Damage Zone.
If a player ever has 6 or more cards in their Damage Zone, they lose.
If a player has no cards in deck at any point, they lose.

Phases:

1) Stand Phase
All of your Rested Rest_2.jpg Units return to the Stand_2.jpg position (unless they are prevented from doing so by a card ability).

2) Draw Phase
Draw 1 card from your Deck and add it to your hand.

3) Ride Phase
You may place a unit from your hand on top of your existing Vanguard. The covered Vanguard card becomes part of your Soul. The new unit must be of the same grade, or one grade higher, than your current Vanguard. You can only do this once per turn. You do not have to Ride if you don't want to. Riding does not heal any damage to your Vanguard.

(Some cards allow you to Superior Ride. Superior Ride is usually found in two forms: a unit with a skill that allows you to ride another unit from your Deck, Hand or Drop Zone, like the effects of Blazing Core Dragon, Dragon Knight, Aleph, or a unit that allows you to ride itself onto a Vanguard if it is of a certain grade and if a certain condition is fulfiled, like Demonic Dragon Berserker, Yaksha and Spirit Exceed. A Superior Ride can Ride any unit over the current Vanguard, regardless of Grade. Also, Superior Rides are not limited to once per turn, and doing a regular Ride does not affect your ability to perform a Superior Ride, nor vice versa.)

4) Main Phase
You can do the follow things you want as many times as you want to:

  • Call.

Place a Unit with a Grade that is either the same as the Vanguard's or lower in a Rear-Guard circle. You may Call as many times as you want in a turn. Unless stated on the card, there is no cost to Call a unit. You may Call a unit into a Rear-Guard Circle that is already occupied, but if you do, you must Retire the unit already there (i.e., move it to the Drop Zone).

(Some cards allow you to Superior Call. This is a Unit skill which selects another Unit from either the deck or drop zone and allows you to Call it, for example Hi-Dog Breeder Akane (Deck) and Captain Nightmist (Drop Zone). When you Superior Call, you can Call a unit even if its Grade is higher than that of your Vanguard.)

  • Move your Rear-Guards.

You can move your Rear Guard units back or forward between the Front Row and the Back Row. Units cannot move from side to side and cannot move into or out of the Vanguard Circle. Thus if a Unit is on the Circle behind the Vanguard, it cannot move at all. Two Rear Guards in the same column may switch places.

  • Use card abilities.

Card abilities which are described as being used in the Main Phase can be used at this point. They'll more than likely be [ACT] Abilities.

  • End the Main Phase.

When you have taken all the actions you want to in the Main Phase, the Battle Phase starts and the Main Phase is over.

5) Battle Phase
In the Battle Phase, you can make as many attacks as you wish provided you have units that can attack. Once you have started the Battle Phase you cannot go back to the Main Phase or take Main Phase actions (so you cannot attack with a unit and then Call a new one).

  • Attack_icon.jpg Attack:

To initiate an attack select a Standing unit in the front row and Rest (Rest_2.jpg) them . Then declare an opponent's front row card to be the target of the attack (unless otherwise stated on the attacking unit's card).

  • Sk_boost.gif Boost:

If you have a card Standing in the back row directly behind the attacker you're attacking with, and they have the "Boost" icon, you can also Rest (Rest_2.jpg) them to add their Power to the attacker's Power for the attack.

  • Guardian_Circle.jpg Guardian Call:

The opponent can Call Guardians from their hand to protect the Unit under attack. The opponent may play any number of cards from their hand to add their Shield power to the power of the unit under attack. The Shield power is found in the yellow square on the left side of the card. Some units have no Shield Power and cannot be called as Guardians. The Guardians must also have a grade equal to or lower than that of your Vanguard. Called Guardians should be placed in the Guardian Circle to keep track of the during the fight. There is no cost to Call Guardians, but all called Guardians will be retired to the Drop Zone at the end of the battle.

The opponent may also use the 'Intercept' ability (specific to Grade 2). If you have a unit in a Rear-Guard Circle in the Front Row that has the Intercept ability, you may move them from there to the Guardian Circle and their Shield will be added to your unit's power as well. Just like other Guardians, they will be retired to the Drop Zone after the battle. Units with Intercept can Intercept even if they are Resting. You cannot Intercept with your Vanguard and thus having an Intercept icon gives no benefit to a Vanguard. Also, since Intercepting is a skill, you can even Intercept when you have a Grade 1 or lower Vanguard.

  • Drive Check:

If you attacked with your Vanguard, you perform a Drive Check.

Reveal the top card of your Deck and place it temporarily in your Trigger Zone. If the card is a Trigger Unit and is of a Clan that is also in your Vanguard or Rear-Guard, then its Trigger effect activates. Regardless of whether the card is a Trigger Unit or not, add the card to your Hand after resolving it.

All Trigger Units share a common effect: they give +5000 Power to any Unit on the field that the player selects for the rest of the turn. You may add the power to the attacking Vanguard to attempt to land a hit during the current attack, or add the power to boost other Units.

There are four possible effects a Trigger Unit can have:

  • draw.jpg Draw Trigger: When revealed during a Drive Check or Damage Check, select 1 of your own Units and it gains +5000 Power, and draw 1 card. Draw the card immediately after the Trigger is revealed (before your next trigger check, in case of Twin Drive or more than 1 Damage).
  • Critical.jpg Critical Trigger: When revealed during a Drive Check or Damage Check, select 1 of your own Units and it gains +5000 Power, and select 1 of your own again and it gains +1 Critical. Power and Critical gains may be applied to different units.
  • Heal.jpg Heal Trigger: When revealed during a Drive Check or Damage Check, select 1 of your own Units and it gains +5000. When the damage you've received before the Heal Trigger is equal or more than your opponent's, you put one card in your Damage Zone into your Drop Zone. (You cannot put more than 4 Heal Triggers in a deck.)
  • Stand.jpg Stand Trigger: When revealed during a Drive Check or Damage Check, select 1 of your own Units and it gains +5000. Then choose a Rear-Guard Unit and restand it.

If your Vanguard has the Twin Drive icon, two Drive Checks are performed. If a trigger is activated by the first check, the effects of the trigger must be completely resolved before a second trigger is checked. For example, when a Draw Trigger is activated, the player draws a card and allocates the damage boost to his units before drawing the second trigger. The Twin Drive icon has no benefit to any unit that isn't played as a Vanguard.

  • Battle Outcome:

To determine the winner of the Battle compare the total Power of the two cards.

If the Attacking unit's Power is less than that of the Target, the attack fails. The Attacking Unit does not suffer any damage or other penalty.

If the Attacking unit's Power is equal to or higher than that of its target, the attack is a success. If the target was a Rear-Guard, it Retires and is sent to the Drop Zone. The attack is then over. The Critical value of the Attacking unit does not matter if the target was a Rear-Guard. If the attack was a success and the target was a Vanguard, the opponent must make a number of Damage Checks equal to the Critical value of the attacker. To make a Damage Check, the opponent moves a card from their Deck to the Trigger Zone. If the card is a Trigger Unit and is of a Clan that is also in your Vanguard or Rear-Guard, then its Trigger effect activates. Triggers have the same effect as they do for a Drive Check. The Trigger Unit does not have to be the same Clan as the target.

After the Trigger effect is resolved (if there was one), the card is moved into the Damage Zone. This process is repeated as many times as the attacker has Critical value. Each Trigger must be completely resolved before the next Damage Check begins.

If a Damage Check reveals a Trigger Unit that gives a +5000 Bonus to a unit, you can use it on the Target if you want to but it will not change the fact that they have lost the current battle. However, it can protect them against future attacks in the same turn.

If a Damage Check reveals a Heal Trigger you may move a card from the Damage Zone to the Drop Zone before placing the Trigger Unit in the Damage Zone if the number of cards in your Damage Zone is greater than or equal to your opponents. This means that if you have 5 cards in your Damage Zone and you make a Damage Check and get a Heal Trigger, you may heal damage before placing the card in your Damage Zone and thus avoid it being the sixth card to be placed there.

  • End of Attack Phase:

Guardians that were called, or that intercepted, are retired (moved to the Drop Zone). If there are Units on the Front Row that can still attack, you can attack again with them. Declare their targets and repeat the process.

6) End Phase

Declare the end of your Turn before switching to the Opponent's turn.

Skills and Abilities:

Skill Effects:

  • Sk_boost.gif Boost

Grade 0 and 1 Units have this ability. When declaring an attack, and a Grade 0 or 1 Unit is behind the attacking Unit, you may put the Grade 0 or 1 Unit to Rest and add its power to the attacker (this Boost only lasts for that battle).

  • Sk_intercept.gif Intercept

Grade 2 Units have this ability. While one of your Units are being attacked and a Grade 2 is in a front-row Rearguard circle, this Unit can move to the Guardian Zone and become its Guardian. Afterwards, its treated as if it was Called as a Guardian.

Another type of Intercept is an Especial Intercept. This is a Unit skill which increases the Unit's Shield value if a Unit in the Vanguard Circle is from a certain Clan; for example Knight Of Truth, Gordon or Dragon Knight Berger.

  • Sk_twindrive.gif Twin Drive!!

Grade 3 Vanguards have this ability. When you attack with your Vanguard, you Drive Check TWO times.

Unit Abilities:

  • auto.jpg: Automatic Ability: This ability takes effect whenever a specific condition or timing is met. The condition or timing is written as "When ~" or "At ~". (Comparable to YGO's Trigger Effects).
  • act.jpg: Activate Ability: This ability can be used during your Main phase, once the conditions are met and you are able to pay the costs in [?]. This ability can be used repeatedly during the same Main phase as long as the cost is paid. (Comparable to YGO's Ignition Effects).
  • cont.jpg: Continuous Ability: If no requirements are specified (e.g. "During your turn), this ability takes effect as long as the Unit is on a Rear Guard, Guardian or Vanguard Circle. (Comparable to YGO's Continuous Effects).

Paying Costs:

There are many different ways to pay costs. There's discarding (Discard X amount of cards from hand) and Resting (Rest the unit), but there are also three other ways to pay costs:

  • Soul_Blast.jpg Soul Blast (X):
  • Retire X cards from Soul. (Send X cards under your Vanguard's stack to the Drop Zone.)
  • Soul_Charge.jpg Soul Charge (X):
  • Send the top X cards of your Deck to your Soul (Send X top cards from your Deck to your Vanguard's stack.)
  • Counter_Blast.jpg Counter Blast (X):
  • Flip X cards from the Damage Zone face-down.

Limit Break:

  • th_limitbreak.jpg Limit Break (X)
  • If you have (X) (or more) cards in your Damage Zone, your Vanguard gets a new ability.

YouTube Videos:

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aD7C7O3eRxY[/media][media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IiMivJKxaCY[/media]

Products:
( :D Released in the English Version of Vanguard)
( :( Not yet released in the English Version of Vanguard)

Trial Decks:
Trial Deck 1: Blaster Blade (Royal Paladin) :D
Trial Deck 2: Dragonic Overlord (Kagero) :D
Trial Deck 3: Golden Mechanical Soldier (Nova Grappler) :D 
Trial Deck 4: Maiden Princess of the Cherry Blossoms (Oracle Think Tank) :D 
Trial Deck 5: Slash of Silver Wolf (Gold Paladin) :D
Trial Deck 6: Resonance of Thunder Dragon (Narukami) :D

Trial Deck 7: Descendants of the Marine Emperor  (Aqua Force)   :D


Booster Sets:
Booster Set 1: Descent of the King of Knights :D
Booster Set 2: Onslaught of Dragon Souls :D
Booster Set 3: Demonic Lord Invasion :D 

Booster Set 4: Eclipse of Illusionary Shadows :D 
Booster Set 5: Awakening of Twin Blades :D 
Booster Set 6: Breaker of Limits :D

Booster Set 7: Rampage of the Beast King  :D

Booster Set 8: Blue Storm Armada  :D

Booster Set 9: Clash of the Knights & Dragons [June 28 - 2013]  :(

Booster Set 10: Triumphant Return of the King of Knights   :(

Booster Set 11: Seal Dragons Unleashed  :(

Booster Set 12: Binding Force of the Black Rings  :(

 

Extra Booster:
Extra Booster: Comic Style Vol. 1 :D 
Extra Booster: Diva Festival :D 
Extra Booster: Cavalry of Black Steel :D 

Clan Discussion Threads:

Tournament Format:

 

 


Dear Evan,

We recommend best 2 of 3 rounds as our preferred tournament method for all events. Of course, please do run your tournaments as you see fit to enjoy Cardfight!! Vanguard and row your community.

Together, lets build the Cardfight Vanguard Community.

Best regards,
Bushiroad SEA



End-of-Match Procedure:

 

 

 


Normally, we do not delineate individual tournament rulings so as to provide organizers with maximum freedom to hold their events.

Timeouts are unusual in Cardfight!! Vanguard due to the fast paced nature of the game.
Organizers should take note that stalling in any form is heavily discouraged during games or, allocate more time to games.

In the event that a timeout occurs for any reason, the following judgments will apply.

1) the player who has taken more damage immediately loses the game at the end of the round.

2) in the event where both players have the same damage, both players continue until one player deals damage to his opponent, resulting in a win.

We hope this information helps you out.

Best regards,
Bushiroad SEA


Official Questions & Answers:

(Warning! LONG!)
[spoiler]
Question 1
Q. Can I draw during the Draw Phase of the beginning turn?
A. Yes, you draw.

Question 2
Q. If my Vanguard is Grade 2 at the time, can I ride a Grade 1 Unit on top of it?
A. No, if your Unit is lower than the Grade of your current Vanguard, you cannot Ride. However, you can Ride a lower grade Unit due to a card effect.

Question 3
Q. To make a Grade 1 Rearguard appear, do I have to ride on top of a Grade 0 Rearguard first?
A. No. Rearguards do not ride. You can simply directly call out a Unit whose Grade is less than or equal to that of your current Vanguard.

Question 4
Q. Can I call a Grade 2 Rearguard if I have a Grade 1 Vanguard?
A. No. You cannot call Units whose Grade is greater than that of your Vanguard. However, you are allowed to call Higher Grade Units via Card Effects.

Question 5
Q. If my Vanguard is Grade 2, can I call a Grade 2 Unit?
A. Yes. You can call a Unit whose Grade is equal to the Grade of your Vanguard.

Question 6
Q. If there is a Rearguard already in the Rearguard Circle, can I call a Rearguard?
A. Yes. At that time, when the new Unit appears, the Previous Unit is retired.

Question 7
Q. Can I purposely have my Unit rest?
A. Yes, you can do so.

Question 8
Q. Can an "Activate" effect be used multiple times during the Main Phase?
A. Yes, during your Main Phase, as long as you can pay the cost of that card, you can activate that effect multiple times.

Question 9
Q. With an effect that activates when "When this attacks", when does it activate?
A. After you declare an attack and make that unit Rest.

Question 10
Q. With an effect that activates "When this Boosts", when does it activate?
A. After you declare the Boost and make that unit Rest.

Question 11
Q. When "When this attacks" and "When this boosts" effects happen at the same time, who is activated first?
A. Since they happen at the same time, the Fighter can resolve them in any order he or she desires.

Question 12
Q. When I attack, can I select my opponent's Standing Unit to Battle?
A. Yes, you can select it. During the Battle with your opponent, if your opponent has a Unit in the front row, it can be selected to battle regardless of whether it is Resting or Standing.

Question 13
Q. Can I attack with a Unit at Rest?
A. No, you cannot.

Question 14
Q. Can I attack with a Unit that has Boosted another Unit?
A. No, you cannot.

Question 15
Q. My Rearguard is hit, do I retire the Unit behind it in the Backrow?
A. No, you do not. The battle only occurs with the Front Row Unit. The Back Row Unit is not retired.

Question 16
Q. What happens if a Unit with 2 Critical hits an opponent's Rearguard with its Attack?
A. Regardless of the Critical, the Unit that was hit is retired. The Vanguard does not receive damage as a result.

Question 17
Q. What happens if the opponent's Unit has more Power than mine?
A. The Attack fails to hit and the Battle Ends. The attacking Unit is not retired and you receive no damage.

Question 18
Q. How long do the bonuses granted by Trigger Effects last?
A. During only that turn. The Trigger Effect bonuses increasing Power and Critical no longer apply once you reach the End Phase.

Question 19
Does not exist.

Question 20
Q. When using Twin Drive or receiving 2 Damage, and you Trigger Check a Draw Trigger, do you Draw First or do you resolve the 2nd Trigger Check first?
A. The Trigger Effect to draw occurs first. If all other card effects have been resolved, you then preform the 2nd Check.

Question 21
Q. When you're damage and you Damage Check a Trigger Unit. You add the +5000 bonus to your Vanguard to exceed the Power of the attacking Unit. Is the damage negated?
A. You already took the damage, so it cannot be negated.

Question 22
Q. If I have a Damage Zone with 5 Cards in it and I get a Heal Trigger. Do I lose in that case?
A. No, you do not. At that time, you activate the Trigger Unit's effect to send a Card from the Damage Zone to the Drop Zone and then place that card in the Damage Zone.

Question 23
Q. Can I call any number of Guardians?
A. Yes, you can.

Question 24
Q. When you place a unit with Intercept in the Guardian Circle, can you Call a Unit from your hand to be a Guardian as well?
A. Yes, you can. You can call Units from your hand as Guardians and have Units Intercept together.

Question 25
Q. How long does the Bonus from the Guardian last?
A. The Guardian stays for the battle. At the end of the Battle, the Guardian is retired, and it only lasts for 1 battle.

Question 26
Q. Can I Intercept with a Unit at Rest?
A. Yes, you can.

Question 27
Q. I have a Unit with 8000 Power attack, and a Guardian with a 10000 Shield is called. Is that Guardian Retired after the battle?
A. Yes, it is retired. When the Results of Battle are decided, regardless of your opponent's Power, the Guardian is retired after the Battle.

Question 28
Q. Is a Unit that Intercepts retired after the battle?
A. Yes, it is retired.

Question 29
Q. I am the attacking player, can I, the attacking player, call out a Unit as a Guardian to power up the Attacking Unit?
A. No, you cannot. Guardians cannot be Called except by the Defending Player.

Question 30
Q. The Attacking Unit gets a Power Up due to a Trigger Effect. Can I call an additional Guardian?
A. No, you cannot. You can only call a Guardian during the Guard Step. You cannot call a Guardian during the Drive Check.

Question 31
Q. What happens when you have 0 Cards in your Deck?
A. If a Fighter's Deck becomes 0, they lose.

Question 32
Q. Is there a Hand Size Limit?
A. No, there is not. You do not adjust your hand size at the End Phase.

Question 33
Q, Can I intercept from the Back row?
A. No, you cannot. You can only Intercept from the Front Row.

Question 34
Q. I turn over a Critical Trigger in a Drive Check. Is it possible to divide the Critical Bonus and Power Bonus between separate Rearguards?
A. Yes, you can do so. You can give the +1 Critical to one Rearguard, and the +5000 Power to a different Rearguard.

Question 35
Q. Can a Unit with a Grade higher than that of your Vanguard be called as a Guardian.
A. No, you cannot. You cannot call a Unit whose Grade is greater than that of your Vanguard.

Question 36
Q. Can I only ride Units of the Same Clan for my Vanguard.
A. No, you can Ride Units of different Clans.

Question 37
Q. When I attack, can I select an opponent's Back-row Rearguard for that Battle with my opponent?
A. No, you cannot. You can only Attack an Opponent's Unit that is in the front row. However, there are some units that will allow you to attack an opponent's Unit in the Back Row.

Question 38
Q. If I win Rock-Paper-Scissors, can I select if I go first or second.
A. No, you cannot choose. Please decide who goes first randomly. Playing Rock-Paper-Scissors is supposed to decide who gets to go first. Please begin after who goes first has been decided.

Question 39
Q. When I place a Card in the Soul and Damage Zone, do I make sure they're face-up?
A. Yes. Other than your hand and Deck, all contents must be made visible to your opponent. If a card in the Damage Zone is flipped face-down, you and your opponent both have the right to check and confirm them.

Question 40
Q. Can I Attack during the same turn I Ride or Call?
A. Yes, you can.

Question 41
Q. How long does a Boost last?
A. Until the End of that Battle.

Question 42
Q. Do I always Drive Check twice with a "Twin Drive!!"?
A. Yes. You always Drive Check twice.

Question 43
TD01/001: Crimson Butterfly Brigitte
DT01/006: Tristan, Knight of the Harp
PR/0003: Sword Emperor Dragonic Valblade
Q: When a Grade 3 "Royal Paladin" (or "Kagero") is revealed by the Check that occurs when I receive damage, does the Power Increase?
A. No, you do not increase.

Question 44
TD01/003: The Lone Knight Gancelot
BT01/010: The Lone Knight Gancelot
BT01/S08: The Lone Knight Gancelot
Q. Concerning it's Second Ability (To search for Blaster Blade), when do I place this card on the Deck? After I search for Blaster Blade? After I shuffle my Deck?
A. No. Putting it on top of the Deck is the first thing you must do.

Question 45
TD02/001: Dragonic Overlord
BT01/004: Dragonic Overlord
BT01/S04: Dragonic Overlord
Q. When this card activates its second Ability as a Vanguard, do you still Drive Check each time this Unit attacks?
A. Yes, you do so. While "Twin Drive!!" is disabled, you still preform a Drive Check during the Trigger Step.

Question 46
TD02/002: Dragon Monk Goku
Q. If I check Grade 3 "Kagero" during Damage, can I retire 1 of my opponent's Units?
A. No, you cannot.

Question 47
TD02/003: Evil Dragon Barbarian Yaksha
Q. I attack an opponent's Rearguard during battle and retire it due to hitting. Can I Ride this card at that time?
A. No, you cannot.

Question 48
TD02/010: Evil Dragon Blessed Mother Joka
TD02/016: Evil Dragon Guru Raksha
BT02/016: Relentless Sutherland
Q. An opponent's Rearguard is attacked during battle, and thus hit and retired. Does this Unit's Power increase?
A. No, you do not increase. An opponent's Unit must be retired during the Main Phase, or else the effect will not activate.

Question 49
TD02/008: Dragon Monk Gojyo
Q. Can I activate this Unit's effect during the turn it appears?
A. Yes, you can.

Question 50
TD01/003:The Lone Knight Gancelot
BT01/001:Alfred the King of Knights
BT01/003:Barkgal
BT01/010:The Lone Knight Gancelot
BT01/012:Future Knight Llew
BT01/014:Dragon Knight Aleph
BT01/016:Lizard Runner Conroe
BT01/S01:Alfred the King of Knights
BT01/S03:Barkgal
BT01/S08:The Lone Knight Gancelot
BT02/023:Dudley Dan
BT02/024:Mecha Trainer
BT02/026:Ghostly Chappie
BT02/029:High Dog Breeder Akane
BT02/030:Powgal
BT02/031:Blazing Core Dragon
Q. When I look through the Deck, what do I do if the card I'm looking for isn't in the Deck.
A. You do nothing. You do not add a card to the hand, Ride, or whatever. You do what is written below. After looking at your Deck, you then shuffle your Deck.

Question 51
BT01/009: Lohengrin the Demon Slayer Knight
BT01/013: Vortex Dragon
BT01/036: Demon Eater
BT01/S09: Vortex Dragon
BT02/011: Buskirk, the Evil Sea's King
BT02/021: Unite Attacker
Q. The Ability to Soul Charge for +2000 Power, is it always activated?
A. Yes. You must always Soul Charge 1 Card at the start of your Main Phase and have your Unit gain 2000 Power.

Question 52
BT01/006: CEO Amaterasu
BT01/S06: CEO Amaterasu
Q. Must I always activate the Soul Charge Ability and Check the Top of the Deck?
A. Yes. At the Start of the Main Phase, you must Soul Charge 1 card and then check the top card of your Deck and place it on the top or bottom of your Deck.

Question 53
DT01/007: Randolph, Knight of the Covenant
BT01/035: Stealth Dragon Voidmaster
BT01/041: Randolph, Knight of the Covenant
BT01/068: Stealth Beast Chigasumi
PR/002: Onmyoji of the Moonlit Evening
Q.When this Unit Attacks and your Drive Check during a Battle and my hand becomes bigger. Does that unit gain 3000 Power?
A. No. It's Ability works when the Attack is Declared and you rest the Card. When you Drive Check, you miss the timing to activate the ability to have that Unit gain 3000 Power.

Question 54
BT01/018 Battle Sister Mocha
Q. During a Turn when this Unit attacks and I Drive Check during Battle, and my hand becomes 4. Does this Unit gain 3000 Power.
A. No. This ability activates only at Attack Deceleration when you rest this Unit. When you Drive Check, this ability misses the timing to have this Unit gain 3000 Power.

Question 55
BT01/055 Weather Girl Milk
Q. The Vanguard this unit boosts Drive Checks during battle, resulting in my hand being 4. Does that Unit gain 4000 Power?
A. No. This Ability activates when you declare the boost, resting the card. When you Drive Check, the Timing to activate this ability is missed and you do not gain the 4000 Power increase.

Question 56
BT01/011 Isolde the Radiant Shield
BT01/015 Wyvern Guard Baryi
BT01/019 Battle Sister Chocolat
BT02/010 Cheer Girl Marilyn
BT02/014 (D)jinn of the Gale
BT02/019 Twin Blader
Q. During a Battle when this Unit's ability is used, does my opponent still Drive Check?
A. Yes, they do so. While Hits are invalid, the Battle still occurs as normal, otherwise.

Question 57
TD01/014 Elaine the Priestess of Yggdrasil
TD01/015 Arms Merchant Govanon
BT01/027 Lozenge Magus
BT01/047 Elaine the Priestess of Yggdrasil
BT01/053 Dragon Monk Genjyou
BT01/065 Round Girl Clara
BT01/S11 Lozenge Magus
BT02/047 Cheer Girl Tiara
BT02/054 Licking Ghost/Lick the Ghost
Q. When I have cards with Different Name that are "Heal Trigger" cards, can I put in 4 each, and say, put 8 into my deck?
A. No, even if you have "Heal Trigger" cards with different names, you can only have 4 Heal Triggers total in your Deck.

Question 58
BT01/033: Tyrant Death Rex
Q: When this Unit attacks and hits and I have no Rearguards. What happens in this case?
A. If you cannot Retire a Unit, you cannot use the 2nd Effect.

Question 59
BT01/034 Assaultsaur Blightops
Q. When this Unit that Intercepts is sent to the Drop Zone, can I use its effect?
A. No, you cannot.

Question 60
BT01/006: CEO Amaterasu
BT01/S05: CEO Amaterasu
Q. When I have 2 cards in my hand and this Unit Attacks. I preform a Drive Check that results in me having 4 cards in my hand, does this card gain 4000 Power.
A. Yes, it gains 4000 Power. During your Turn, the 4000 Power bonus works whenever you have 4 or more cards in your hand.

Question 61
TD02/001: Dragonic Overlord
BT01/004: Dragonic Overlord
BT01/S04: Dragonic Overlord
Q. Can I use the 2nd ability when I attack?
A. This ability's activation cost must be paid during your Main Phase before you attack.

Question 62
TD01/002: Bors the Knight of Conviction
BT01/020: Judgment Maximum
BT01/074: High Speed Blacky
PR/0005: Scale Dragon of the Magma Cave
PR/0006: Knight Gryphon, Defender of the Skies
BT02/003: Ruin Shade
BT02/043: Cyclone Blitz
BT02/066: Seer of Truth
BT02/S03: Ruin Shade
Q. When an effect that says "When this attacks" is activated, can I pay that effect's cost 2 or more times if I am capable of doing so?
A. No, you cannot. In that case "When" timing only allows you to activate once. You cannot pay the cost more than once.

Question 63
TD02/009: Elmo the Flames of Hope
BT01/017: Maiden of Libra
BT01/025: Oracle Guardian Apollo
BT01/035: Stealth Dragon Voidmaster
BT01/S10: Maiden of Libra
BT02/018: Magician Girl Kirara
BT02/020: Top Idol Flores
BT02/038: Master Fraud
BT02/S11: Top Idol Flores
Q. When an effect that says "When this attack hits" is activated, can I pay that effect's cost 2 or more times if I am capable of doing so?
A. No, you cannot. In that case "When" timing only allows you to activate once. You cannot pay the cost more than once.

Question 64
BT01/069: Stealth Dragon Dreadmaster
Q."When the "Nubatama" Unit boosted by this unit attacks during this battle and hits" effect is activated, can I pay the costs multiple times when the attack hits?
A. No, you cannot. In that case "When" timing only allows you to activate once. You cannot pay the cost more than once.

Question 65
TD01/003: The Lone Gancelot
BT01/010: The Lone Gancelot
BT01/S08: The Lone Gancelot
PR/0008: Knight Squire Alen
PR/0016: Dragon Armored Knight
BT02/005: Blazing Flare Dragon
BT02/039: Scientist Monkey Roux
BT02/057: Soul Guiding Elf
BT02/061: Iron Tail Dragon
BT02/S05: Blazing Flare Dragon
Q. Can I use these card's effect multiple times during a turn?
A. Yes. If you can pay the cost, you can activate their effects multiple times per that Main Phase.

Question 66
BT01/006: CEO Amaterasu
BT01/S05: CEO Amaterasu
Q. The effect of this card says "Draw 5 Cards". Is that number "up to" 5 cards? Is that "until you have 5 cards in your hand"?
A. It is "Up to 5 Cards" (Draw 0 to 5 Cards). When told to draw cards, you draw cards irregardless to your hand size.

Question 67
BT01/006: CEO Amaterasu
BT01/009: Lohengrin the Demon Slaying Knight
BT01/013: Vortex Dragon
BT01/028: Mr. Invincible
BT01/036: Demon Eater
BT01/S05: CEO Amaterasu
BT01/S09: Vortex Dragon
BT02/011: Buskirk, the Evil Sea's King
BT02/021: Unite Attacker
Q. With the Cost of "Soul Blast 8 Cards; Counter Blast 5 Cards", can I select whether it's a cost of "Soul Blast 8 Cards" or "Counter Blast 5 Cards"?
A. No. You have to pay both. You must pay all the costs within the [ ] Cost Text to use that effect.

Question 68
TD02/009: Elmo the Fires of Hope
BT01/043: Lian, Maiden of the Lake
BT01/049: Dragon Monk Gojyoo
BT01/061: Screamin' and Dancin' Announcer Shout
Q. With the Cost of "Rest this Unit, Select 1 Card in your hand and discard it", can I select whether it's a cost of "Rest this Unit" or "Select 1 Card in your hand and discard it"?
A. No. You have to pay both. You must pay all the costs within the [ ] Cost Text to use that effect.

Question 69
BT01/012: Future Knight Llew
Q. With the Cost of "Counter Blast 1 Card; Select 1 "Future Knight Llew", "Barkgal" and "Flogal" in your Rearguard and make them Soul", can I select whether it's a cost of "Counter Blast 1 Card" or "Select 1 "Future Knight Llew", "Barkgal" and "Flogal" in your Rearguard and make them Soul"?
A. No. You have to pay both. You must pay all the costs within the [ ] Cost Text to use that effect.

Question 70
BT01/014: Dragon Knight Aleph
Q. With the Cost of "Counter Blast 1 Card; Select 1 "Bahr the Embodiment of the Armor" and "Tahr the Embodiment of the Spear" in your Rearguard and make them Soul", can I select whether it's a cost of "Counter Blast 1 Card" or "Select 1 "Bahr the Embodiment of the Armor" and "Tahr the Embodiment of the Spear" in your Rearguard and make them Soul"?
A. No. You have to pay both. You must pay all the costs within the [ ] Cost Text to use that effect.

Question 71
BT01/016: Lizard Soldier Conroe
BT02/024: Mecha Trainer
Q. With the cost of "Counter Blast 1 Card; Retire This Unit" of these cards, can I select to just pay "Counter Blast 1 Card" or "Retire This Unit"?
A. No. You have to pay both. You must pay all the costs within the [ ] Cost Text to use that effect.

Question 72
Q. When activating an ability that relies on When my Attack Hits, does the Damage Check happen first?
A. Your Opponent Damage Checks First. The Damage Check occurs, activate any Triggers, and once all of that is dealt with, you resolve the activation of the "When your Attack Hits" Ability.

Question 73
BT01/006: CEO Amaterasu
BT01/009: Lohengrin the Demon Slaying Knight
BT01/013: Vortex Dragon
BT01/020: Judgment Maximum
BT01/028: Mr. Invincible
BT01/036: Demon Eater
BT01/074: High Speed Blacky
BT01/S05: CEO Amaterasu
BT01/S09: Vortex Dragon
PR/0005:Scale Dragon of the Magma Cave
PR/0006: Knight Gryphon, Defender of the Skies
BT02/011:Buskirk, the Evil Sea's King
BT02/020: Top Idol Flores
BT02/021: Unite Attacker
BT02/025: Dancing Cutlass
BT02/033: Luck Bird
BT02/037: Bermuda△ Cadet Caravelle
BT02/038: Master Fraud
BT02/043: Cyclone Blitz
BT02/066: Seer of Truth
BT02/S11: Top Idol Flores
Q. When a Rearguard of this Unit "Soul Blasts", are the Soul placed under the Vanguard removed?
A. Yes. Rearguards cannot have Soul placed under them. Thus, when a Rearguad's ability is used, the Soul under the Vanguard is used.

Question 74
BT01/006: CEO Amaterasu
BT01/S06: CEO Amaterasu
Q. The version that says "Activate" with its third effect, can I use it official tournaments?
A. Yes, you can use it. The Third Effect is treated as reading that it has the corrected text of "Auto" instead of "Activate".

Question 75
BT01/006: CEO Amaterasu
BT01/S06: CEO Amaterasu
Q. Its third effect that reads as "Activate". Do I use its effect as an "Activate" effect?
A. No, you cannot. "Activate" mis-represents the way the card is supposed to be used. The text is correctly read as a "Auto" effect.

Question 76
Q. If I Ride a Vanguard on a Resting Vanguard, is the Vanguard I Rode Resting?
A. No. Unless you are told otherwise, when a unit appears, it appears Standing.

Question 77
TD01/005: Blaster Blade
TD02/005: Berserk Dragon
BT01/002: Blaster Blade
BT01/039: Hell Spider
BT01/070: Stealth Beast Hagakure
BT01/079: Karma Queen
BT01/S02: Blaster Blade
BT02/004: Soul Saber Dragon
BT02/007: Scarlet Witch Coco
BT02/012: Negromare, Witch Doctor of the Abyss
BT02/025: Dancing Cutlass
BT02/029: High Dog Breeder Akane
BT02/033: Luck Bird
BT02/037: Bermuda△ Cadet Caravelle
BT02/076: Lady Bomb
BT02/S04: Soul Saber Dragon
BT02/S07: Scarlet Witch Coco
BT02/S10: Negromare, Witch Doctor of the Abyss
Q. When a "When this Card Appears" Effect is activated, can I pay the cost twice to activate it twice when it appears?
A. No, you cannot. An "Auto" effect when dealing with that Timing of "When", can only be activated once. You cannot pay the cost more than once.

Question 78
BT02/027: Gigantic Charger
Q. If the revealed card is a "Royal Paladin", must that card be Called?
A. Yes, you must Call that card. If all your Rearguard Circles are occupied, you must select a unit in a Rearguard Circle and retire it to Call the new unit.

Question 79
BT02/042: Devil Summoner
Q. If this card reveals a Grade 1~2 "Spike Brothers", must that card be Called regardless of your field?
A. Yes, you must call it. If your Rearguard Circles are all occupied, you retire the Unit occupying the Circle it will be called to.

Question 80
BT02/015: Young Pegasus Knight
BT02/028: Great Sage Baron
Q. During the Main Phase, a card effect is used to Ride. At this time, the previous Vanguard becomes Soul. Does this card gain 3000 Power?
A. Yes, you do. If you Ride, the previous Vanguard becomes Soul, allowing this effect to activate.

Question 81
BT02/015: Young Pegasus Knight
BT02/028: Great Sage Baron
Q. If multiple cards are placed in the Soul at the same time, does this card's effect activate multiple times?
A. Yes, you activate it. For example, during the Main Phase, 3 Cards are made Soul at the same time, you activate 3 times, resulting in a +9000 Increase.

Question 82
BT01/034: Assaultosaur Blightops
BT02/034: Pterosaur Skyptera
BT02/035: Dragon Egg
Q. This Unit in the Rearguard Circle is retired when a New Unit is called. At that time, it is placed in the Drop Zone and I try to pay the cost. Can I return it to my hand?
A. Yes, you can. When it is sent from the Rearguard Circle to the Drop Zone, activate its ability.

Question 83
BT02/023 Dudley Dan
Q. When this card's effect would call a Unit, can I select a Unit whose Grade is greater than that of my Vanguard?
A. Yes, you can select such a card. When you call by a Card Effect, the Vanguard's Grade is not factored into what you can call.

Question 84
BT02/011: Buskirk, the Evil Sea's King
Q. Concerning the second effect, when I select cards in my Drop Zone, can I select cards that were sent to the Drop Zone due to this effec's Soul Blast?
A. Yes, you can. When you select cards, cards used to pay the cost of the Soul Blast have already been placed in the Drop Zone, allowing you to select them.

Question 85
BT02/009: Shogun Seyfried
BT02/S09: Shogun Seyfried
Q. I receive damage and I check a Grade 3 "Spike Brothers", do I call that unit?
A. No, you do not. You can only do that when you Trigger Check for the Drive Check that happens this Vanguard attacks.

Question 86
BT02/070: Blastosaur Cannongear
Q. If I have no Rearguard, can I Ride this Unit?
A. You can ride. When you ride, Rearguard retiring effect is activated, and because there is no Rearguard, it cannot be done.

Question 87
BT02/070: Blastosaur Cannongear
Q. If I have no Rearguard, can I Call this Unit?
A. Yes, you can. When you call it, you activate its ability to retire a Rearguard and you have no other Rearguards, you must retire this Unit.

Question 88
BT02/007: Scarlet Witch Coco
BT02/S07: Scarlet Witch Coco
Q. The effect of this card says "Draw 2 Cards". Is that number "up to" 2 cards? Is that "until you have 2 cards in your hand"?
A. It is "Up to 2 Cards" (Draw 0 to 2 Cards). When told to draw cards, you draw cards irregardless to your hand size.

Question 89
BT02/055: Rip-Tide Banshee
BT02/068: Psychic Bird
Q. When this card says Draw 1 Card, is that "up to 1 card" from your Deck. And if I have cards in my hand, can I draw at all?
A. It is "Up to 1 Card" (Draw 0 to 1 Card). When told to draw cards, you draw cards irregardless to your hand size.

Question 90
BT02/013: Captain Nightmist
Q. With the cost of "Counter Blast 1 Card; Select and Retire 1 of my Grade 1 or Higher "Granblue" Rearguards" of this cards, can I select to just pay "Counter Blast 1 Card" or "Select and Retire 1 of my Grade 1 or Higher "Granblue" Rearguards"?
A. No. You have to pay both. You must pay all the costs within the [ ] Cost Text to use that effect.

Question 91
BT02/023 Dudley Dan
Q. With the cost of "Counter Blast 2 Cards; Select and 1 of my "Spike Brothers" in my hand and make it Soul" of this card, can I select to just pay "Counter Blast 2 Cards" or "Select and 1 of my "Spike Brothers" in my hand and make it Soul"?
A. No. You have to pay both. You must pay all the costs within the [ ] Cost Text to use that effect.

Question 92
BT02/030: Powgal
BT02/032: Evil Dragon Guru Kinnara
BT02/064: Gatling Claw Dragon
Q. With the cost of "Counter Blast 1 Card; Make this Unit Soul" of these cards, can I select to just pay "Counter Blast 1 Card" or "Make this Unit Soul"?
A. No. You have to pay both. You must pay all the costs within the [ ] Cost Text to use that effect.

Question 93
BT02/031: Blazing Core Dragon
Q. With the cost of "Counter Blast 1 Card; Select 1 "Iron Tail Dragon" and "Gatling Claw Dragon" in your Rearguard and make them Soul", can I select to just pay "Counter Blast 1 Card" or "Select 1 "Iron Tail Dragon" and "Gatling Claw Dragon" in your Rearguard and make them Soul"?
A. No. You have to pay both. You must pay all the costs within the [ ] Cost Text to use that effect.

Question 94
BT02/050 Samurai Spirit
Q. With the cost of "Counter Blast 1 Card; Select and Retire 1 of my "Granblue" Rearguards" of this cards, can I select to just pay "Counter Blast 1 Card" or "Select and Retire 1 of my "Granblue" Rearguards"?
A. No. You have to pay both. You must pay all the costs within the [ ] Cost Text to use that effect.

Question 95
BT02/013: Captain Nightmist
Q. When I have a Vanguard of Grade 1, can I Superior Call this Card from the Drop Zone?
A. Yes, you can. When you Call by card effect, you can Call regardless of the Vanguard's Grade.

Question 96
BT02/050: Samurai Spirit
Q. When I have a Vanguard of Grade 0, can I Superior Call this Card from the Drop Zone?
A. Yes, you can. When you Call by card effect, you can Call regardless of the Vanguard's Grade.

Question 97
Q. When I have a Vanguard of Grade 1 or less, and I have a Grade 2 Unit who appeared due to a Card Effect, can I use its "Intercept"?
A. Yes, you can. "Intercept" is calling a Guardian, but remember, when Abilities are involved, Vanguard Grade is not factored in.

Question 98
BT01/012: Future Knight, Lew
BT02/015: Young Pegasus Knight
BT02/028: Great Sage, Baron
Q: I have "Young Pegasus Knight" and "Great Sage, Baron" as my Rearguards, and I use the ability of "Future Knight, Lew" to Superior Ride "Blaster Blade". At this time, how much power do they gain?
A: Their power goes up by 12000. On top of "Future Knight, Lew" putting "Future Knight, Lew", "Flogal", and "Barkgal" into your Soul as a Cost, when "Blaster Blade" is Superior Ride'd, the previous Vanguard becomes Soul, causing "Young Pegasus Knight" and "Great Sage, Baron" to have their effect trigger a total of 4 times.

Question 99
BT01/034: Assault Dragon Blightops
BT02/034: Pterosaur Skyptera
BT02/035: Dragon Egg
BT02/069: Chaos Dragon Dinochaos
Q. When I have a Grade 2 non-"Tachikaze" Vanguard, and I use the ability of "Chaos Dragon Dinochaos". At this time, I retire "Pterosaur Skyptera" and "Dragon Egg". At this time, the two are sent from the Rearguard to the Drop Zone, can I activate their effects?
A. Yes, you can. "Pterosaur Skyptera" and friends have their ability say "When this Unit is sent from the Rearguard Circle to the Drop Zone", while "Chaos Dragon Dinochaos" is resolving, they enter what is essentially a waiting list. You first resolve the effect of "Chaos Dragon Dinochaos", so that when the timing for "Pterosaur Skyptera" and his pals comes around, you can fulfill the cost of the cards because the "Your "Tachikaze" Vanguard" clause is now valid, and then complete the effects of your cards.

Question 100
Q. When using "Sleeves", what should you be careful to do?
A. To make sure all of your cards are indistinguishable, you should use only one style of sleeve per Deck. As well, you cannot use sleeves with noticeable scratches or distortions. Your Sleeve should also not be marked in any manner, and it should leave your card visible so that any effects or text is able to be discerned by all players involved. Also, using multiple sleeves for each card results in making it harder to discern the sleeve, makes it easier to stack cards, and can make it difficult to shuffle your deck due to being too thick, so it's not recommended.

Question 101
Q. Can I take Notes during the game, or mark things using Dice or Coins or whatnot?
A. No, you are not allowed to keep notes, and you should not need Dice or Coins to do anything. Things unrelated to tournament play should be kept off the tables. For the use of things like Fighters Coins, please follow the instruction and discretion of your Judge and/or Tournament Staff.

Question 102
Q. When you preform a Shuffle, how careful should one be?
A. A player should do the shuffle first, and to make sure you can't identify cards, shuffle very carefully. Then politely ask your opponent to preform a cut and shuffle.

Question 103
Q. If I think my opponent's shuffle is not good enough or dubious, what should I do?
A. If you do not think your opponent has done a good enough job, please ask them politely to do it again. If you think your opponent still has not shuffled enough, call for the Judge and/or Tournament Staff, and follow their instructions.

Question 104
Q. During a Tournament, I have something I need to do (Such as retiring Units), and I accidentally forget, what should I do?
A. If you're sure you made a mistake, please inform the Judges or Tournament Staff, and follow their instructions. If the game has proceeded incorrectly, but you cannot reverse back to the situation when the error started, it is likely to result in a loss. If you notice problems, tell the Judge and/or Tournament Staff as soon as possible.

Question 105
Q. If during the Tournament, what do I do if my opponent's plays are different from how the rules state things are supposed to be done?
A. If you're sure something's wrong, please tell the Judge(s) and/or Tournament Staff, and then follow their instructions. Let them evaluate the situation, and determine who was right in this case. Trying to force a decision after it's decided just leads to fights. If your opponent seems to know the rules, check with them, try to resolve it, and tell the Judge and/or Tournament Staff.

Question 106
Q. In a Single Elimination Format Tournament, when time runs out, but both players have the same damage in the Damage Zone, and they continue to play… a player's Vanguard gets hit, and during the Damage Check, that player draws a Heal Trigger, what happens?
A. Resolve the Heal Trigger's Effect by recovering a card in the Damage Zone and placing the Heal Trigger in the Damage Zone. Because there was no change in the number of cards in your Damage Zone, continue to play.

Question 107
TD04/006: Sword Dancer Angel
Q. If 2 cards are drawn at the same time, does this card gain 2000 Power?
A. Yes, in that case it gains 2000 Power. For each card drawn during a draw, this card gains 1000 Power.

Question 108
TD04/006: Sword Dancer Angel
Q. When you add a card to your hand due to a Drive Check, does this card's effect activate.
A. No, you do not active. A Drive Check activates when you move a card from your hand to the Trigger Zone. A Card is drawn (Adding a card from your Deck to your happen) does not occur. However, a Draw due to a Draw Trigger's effect will cause this effect to work.

Question 109
TD04/006: Sword Dancer Angel
Q. When you draw a card during the Draw Phase, does this card's effect activate?
A. Yes, when a card is drawn, the effect activates.

Question 110
TD04/008: Dark Cat
Q. When determining to draw a card, which player is a responsible?
A. Each player is responsible for themselves to decide "I will draw a card" or "I will not draw a card".

Question 111
BT03/005: Swordsman of the Explosive Flames, Baromedes
Q. Concerning this card's ability, when counting the number of units, is this card counted?
A. Yes, this card counts as 1 of the "Grade 3 "Royal Paladin" in your Vanguard and/or Rearguard"

Question 112
BT03/007:Goddess of Half Moon, Tsukiyomi
BT03/036:Durangal
BT03/038:God Hawk, Ichibyoshi
BT03/062:Knight in Trialing, Galahad
BT03/065:Knight in Questing, Galahad
BT03/071:Goddess of Crescent Moon, Tsukiyomi
Q. If there are no cards that apply from the 5 cards at the top of my Deck, what do I do?
A. Arrange the cards in any order you like and place them under your Deck.

Question 113
BT03/020: Super Dimensional Robot Daiyuuha
Q. This Unit's Power is 14000 during the Battle Step, when your Reaguards have attacked twice between this Unit's ATK, because the Attack Step has happened 3 times already, does it gain 3 Criticals?
A. No, because the number of criticals resets at the Close Step of a Battle, the Critical will only be increased by 1.

Question 114
BT03/001: Stil Vampir
Q. If you use this card's effect to put an opponent's Rearguard in the Vanguard Circle, is it placed in Stand position?
A. Yes, When a unit is moved from one Zone to another, if there are no othe instructions, it is placed in the Stand position in spite of its original position.

Question 115
BT03/001: Stil Vampir
Q. You use it second ability, and at the End Phase when a Ride is preformed, when chosing a Vanguard of a higher grade, must it be of exactly 1 grade higher?
A. No, because it is a Superior Ride, even if the Unit in the Vanguard is a Grade 0, you can ride a Grade 3.

Question 116
Q. When a Ride is done by a card effect, do you have to follow the normal grade chain (0 > 1 > 2 > 3)
A. No, a Ride by a card effect (known as a Superior Ride) is Ridden regardless of Grade. Checking and following grades are only done for the purposes of a Ride following the procedures of the Ride Phase (Normal Ride).

Question 117
Q. When you Call by a card effect, do you check the Grade?
A. No, a Call by a Special Effect (Superior Call) does not require you to check the Grade. Checking the Grade is only done when you Call a unit from your hand to your Rearguard during the Main Phase OR When you call a Guardian from your hand during the Guard Step (Nomal Call).

Question 118
BT03/020: Super Dimensional Robot Daiyuusha
BT03/S12: Super Dimensional Robot Daiyuusha
Q. When is the "Start of the Attack Step" that causes this Unit's Auto Effect to activate?
A. It's the start of your Battles. The timing is when you decide to attack.

Question 119
BT03/039: Deatharmor Lady
BT03/040: Deatharmor Guy
Q. When you recieve damage and check a Grade 3 "Nova Grappler", can you Stand this Unit?
A. No, you cannot. You can only preform this when a Vanguard Attacks and you turn over a card during the Drive Check to Trigger Check.

Question 120
BT01/008: Asura Kaiser
BT01/S07: Asura Kaiser
Q. Q. When you recieve damage and check a Grade 3 "Nova Grappler", can you Stand a Rearguard?
A. No, you cannot. You can only preform this when a Vanguard Attacks and you turn over a card during the Drive Check to Trigger Check.

Question 121
BT03/002: Demon World Marquis Amon
BT03/S01: Demon World Marquis Amon
Q. With its cost of "Counter Blast 1 Card, Select 1 of your "Dark Irregulars" Rearguards and make it Soul", can I chose to only pay for "Counter Blast 1 Card" OR "Select 1 of your "Dark Irregulars" Rearguard and make it soul"?
A. No, you have to pay both. You must preform all actions laid out in a cost.

Question 122
Q. Please tell me more about the procedures concerning Attacking and Boosting during the Attack Step?
A. You preform the Attack Step following the following procedures.
(1) You Attack with a Unit then Boost the Unit and then specify the attack target.
(2) You resolve Auto Effects of "When this unit attacks", "When this unit is attacked", "When this unit boosts", "When this unit is boosted".
(3) The Power of a Boosting Unit is added to the Boosted Unit.
(4) If there are other Auto Effects to be resolved, resolve them.

Question 123
BT04/006:Amber Dragon "Eclipse"
BT04/S06:Amber Dragon "Eclipse"
Q. During the dame turn, this Unit uses its Special Ability twice. When this Unit's Attack Hits a Vanguard, can I retreat up to 4 of my opponent's cards?
A. Yes, you can do so. If you pay the Cost twice, it possesses two abilities of [Auto (Vanguard): When this Unit's Attack Hits the Vanguard, Select up to 2 of your opponent's Rearguards and retreat them.].

Question 124
BT04/036:Lizard Soldier Raopia
Q. When this Unit Attacks, and the opponent Intercepts with X number of cards such that they have 2 or more Rearguards… Does this card's Special Ability activate?
A. No. It does not activate. "When it Boosts" is "Selecting and Resting this Unit to Boost", which is not at the same timing as Intercept, so the timing for this ability to activate has already passed.

Question 125
BT04/002:Black Maiden, Macha
BT04/025:Fullbau
BT04/030:Enigman Flow
BT04/035:Larva Kaijin, Giraffa
BT04/037:Amber Dragon "Dawn"
BT04/039:Blaujunger
BT04/046:Blaster Javelin
BT04/054:Enigman Ripple
BT04/070:Amber Dragon “Daylight”
BT04/075:Blaupanzer
BT04/020:Fang of Light, Galmeaux
BT04/040:Beast Knight, Galmeaux
BT04/S02:Black Maiden, Macha
BT04/S11:Fang of Light, Galmeaux
Q. When you search your Deck for a Card, what do you do if there's no such card in your Deck?
A. You do nothing. With nothing to add to your hand, you do what follows after ways. In that case, if you're finished viewing your Deck, you shuffle your Deck.

Question 126
BT04/005:The Most Evil Shogun, Giraffa
BT04/S05:The Most Evil Shogun, Giraffa
Q. "[Counter Blast 2 Cards, Select 2 of your «Megacolony» Rearguards and retire them], can I pay just "Counterblast 2 Cards" or "Select 2 of your «Megacolony» Rearguards and retire them." when pay a cost to use this card's ability?
A. No, you cannot. A Cost requires you do all actions listed in the [ ] Text.

Question 127
BT04/032:Violent Vesper
Q. When the revealed card is a «Megacolony», must I Call it?
A. Yes, you must call it. If all of your Rearguard Circles are full, Call this Card to a Circle then retire that Unit.

Question 128
BT04/S08:Darkmetal Dragon
Q. I Drive Check 2 «Shadow Paladin». Does this Unit gains 4000 Power.
A. Yes, it gains 4000 Power. For each instance of Drive Checking a «Shadow Paladin», this Unit gains 2000 Power.

Question 129
BT04/004:Enigman Storm
BT04/S04:Enigman Storm
Q: This Unit's Power is 15000 during the Battle Phase. If your Rearguards have Attacked before this Card, will this effect have activated twice before, so when this Unit Attacks during the Attack Step, does this Unit have 3 extra Critical?
A. No, during the Close Step of a Battle, this Unit's Critical value returns to the normal, so the Critical +1 only lasts for a single Battle.

Question 130
BT04/028:Platinum Ace
Q: This Unit's Power is 13000 during the Battle Phase. If your Rearguards have Attacked before this Card, will this effect have activated twice before, so when this Unit Attacks during the Attack Step, does this Unit have 3 extra Critical?
A. No, during the Close Step of a Battle, this Unit's Critical value returns to the normal, so the Critical +1 only lasts for a single Battle.

Question 131
BT04/008:Sterm Blaukruger
Q. "[Counter Blast 2 Cards, Select 2 «Nova Grappler» in your hand and discard them.], can I pay just "Counterblast 2 Cards" or "Select 2 «Nova Grappler» in your hand and discard them." when pay a cost to use this card's ability?
A. No, you cannot. A Cost requires you do all actions listed in the [ ] Text.

Question 132
BT04/001:Phantom Blaster Dragon
BT04/S01:Phantom Blaster Dragon
Q. "[Counter Blast 2 Cards, Select 3 of your «Shadow Paladin» Rearguards and retire them.], can I pay just "Counterblast 2 Cards" or "Select 3 of your «Shadow Paladin» Rearguards and retire them." when pay a cost to use this card's ability?
A. No, you cannot. A Cost requires you do all actions listed in the [ ] Text.

Question 133
BT04/003:Skull Witch, Neamhain
BT04/S03:Skull Witch, Neamhain
Q. For pay the costs of this card with "Counterblast 1 Card, Select 1 «Shadow Paladin» in your hand and discard it.", can I pay just "Counterblast 1 Card" or "Select 1 «Shadow Paladin» in your hand and discard it" when pay a cost to use this card's ability?
A. No, you cannot. A Cost requires you do all actions listed in the [ ] Text.

Question 134
BT04/022: Black Sorcerer Badb Carr
Q. If you reveal a «Shadow Paladin», must you call that card no matter what?
A. Yes, you must call. If all of your Rearguard Circles are occupied, Call it to a Circle, then retire the previous unit.

Question 135
EB01/001: Perfect Raizer
Q. When you Ride this Card, can you choose not to add "Raizer" Cards in your Rearguard to your Soul?
A. No, you cannot select cards. All "Raizer" Cards in your Rearguard are placed in your Soul.

Question 136
EB01/001: Perfect Raizer
Q. There are 5 "Raizer" Cards in the Soul. Does this card gain +2 Critical?
A. No, you do not. If you have 5 or more "Raizer" cards in your Soul, you only gain +1 Critical.

Question 137
EB01/002: Duel Dragon ZANBAKU
Q. This card happens to be in my opponent's Vanguard Circle, if I ride a Grade 3, who discards?
A. You do.

Question 138
Q. What does "Original Power" mean?
A. The Power written on the card before their skills that change them is applied.

Question 139
EB01/006: Imperial Daughter
EB01/015: Savage King
Q. In the [ ] Portion to the effect, can I only fulfill a section of that to activate that effect?
A. No, you cannot. All the text in [ ] is the entire cost that must all be fulfilled.

Question 140
EB01/007: Weather Forecaster, Miss Mist
Q. Does your opponent still Drive Check if you use this card effect.
A. Yes, it still happens. Even if you meet the requirements of an effect that prevents an attack from hitting, every other portion of a Battle still happens.

Question 141
EB01/016: Boomerang Thrower
EB01/026: Archer FUSHIMI
Q. With its effect "Continuous (Vanguard): This Unit can select an opponent Unit in your opponent's Back Row and battle it.", can you attack Units in different Columns than this card?
A. Yes, you can. You can attack Units in a Column that is not the same Column as this card.

Question 142
EB01/025: Luck Pigeon
Q. During the Guard Step, I call all 3 cards in my hand to the Guardian Circle, making my hand 0. At this time, can I call this card from the Soul to the Guardian Circle?
A. No, you cannot. You call this card as a Guardian when the Guard Step Begins. If your hand is not 0 when the Guard Step begins, you cannot call this card.

Question 143
EB01/031: Machining Worker Ant
Q. Can I select a Unit already standing with this Unit's special ability?
A. Yes, you can. If you do so, nothing happens because it's already Standing.
[/spoiler]

26

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I think question 143 is messed up. Morleh deserves allen type rep for this.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Requesting ban on those who do not read this and ask retarded questions in threads. Also nice edit to the avatar, Mor.
2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I've been looking to get into Vanguard and this looks like the perfect read. Thanks a ton in advice.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
ill be sure to review this should I have interest in this game

kudos tho
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Wow that's a lot of sadfaces in the products section.

Cheer up at least Booster 6 I mean 3 will be released soon. :D
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Morleh, will you be including emails from Bushiroad's SEA regarding rulings, organized play, tournament structure, etc into this post? I posted a few in the original Vanguard thread. I could repost them here and you could edit them into the op; what do you think?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Where do you play Vanguard online? I`ve been searching for like hours.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Cardfight Capital, it's a game on BYOND, download and install BYOND, you have to make an account, then just go to this site and hit play

[url="http://www.byond.com/games/DevourerOfSouls/CardfightCapital"]http://www.byond.com/games/DevourerOfSouls/CardfightCapital[/url]
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Am I at the right thing? I can walk around and stuff but I don`t know how to edit my deck.

Nick is DGz-Grimey if anyone wants to help me.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[quote name='Grimey' timestamp='1334007698' post='3150051']
Am I at the right thing? I can walk around and stuff but I don`t know how to edit my deck.

Nick is DGz-Grimey if anyone wants to help me.
[/quote]

I'm getting on.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[quote name='Sand' timestamp='1333992292' post='3149805']
Morleh, will you be including emails from Bushiroad's SEA regarding rulings, organized play, tournament structure, etc into this post? I posted a few in the original Vanguard thread. I could repost them here and you could edit them into the op; what do you think?
[/quote]

That's a good idea; any info that should be known should be here.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Tournament Format:

[quote name='Bushiroad SEA']
[color=#454545][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][size=3]Dear Evan,[/size][/font][/color]

[color=#454545][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][size=3]We recommend best 2 of 3 rounds as our preferred tournament method for all events. Of course, please do run your tournaments as you see fit to enjoy Cardfight!! Vanguard and row your community.[/size][/font][/color]

[color=#454545][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][size=3]Together, lets build the Cardfight Vanguard Community.[/size][/font][/color]

[color=#454545][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][size=3]Best regards,[/size][/font][/color]
[color=#454545][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][size=3]Bushiroad SEA[/quote][/size][/font][/color]

End-of-Match Procedure:


[quote name='Bushiroad SEA']
[color=#454545][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][size=3]Normally, we do not delineate individual tournament rulings so as to provide organizers with maximum freedom to hold their events.[/size][/font][/color]

[color=#454545][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][size=3]Timeouts are unusual in Cardfight!! Vanguard due to the fast paced nature of the game.[/size][/font][/color]
[color=#454545][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][size=3]Organizers should take note that stalling in any form is heavily discouraged during games or, allocate more time to games.[/size][/font][/color]

[color=#454545][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][size=3]In the event that a timeout occurs for any reason, the following judgments will apply.[/size][/font][/color]

[color=#454545][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][size=3]1) the player who has taken more damage immediately loses the game at the end of the round.[/size][/font][/color]

[color=#454545][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][size=3]2) in the event where both players have the same damage, both players continue until one player deals damage to his opponent, resulting in a win.[/size][/font][/color]

[color=#454545][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][size=3]We hope this information helps you out.[/size][/font][/color]

[color=#454545][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][size=3]Best regards,[/size][/font][/color]
[color=#454545][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][size=3]Bushiroad SEA[/quote][/size][/font][/color]
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Okay FUCK this forum's post editor. I've tried numerous times to complete the Tachikaze thread only to have my shit get deleted over and over again. Fuck this shit.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Yeah. When posts get super lengthy, it gets REALLY buggy for me. I had to remake the thread twice b/c it kept getting messed up. Now I just do stuff in Microsoft Word and c/p it here lol.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Yeah it happened to me too when writing Novas and Royals. I just wrote it in Notepad, after the first time Novas fucked up on me.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
So I just started playing this game last week and I'm wondering what would be the best deck to further understand the game with? By the way, this game is awesome.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[quote name='Kezia' timestamp='1334758269' post='3158334']
So I just started playing this game last week and I'm wondering what would be the best deck to further understand the game with? By the way, this game is awesome.
[/quote]

Since you are a beginner, it's better if you use a deck like Kagero or Royal Paladins. Both of these decks are not hard to use and they will improve your undestanding of the game, so you can later use more complicated decks. Now about the prices, Kagero is really cheap, but Royal Paladin is quite expensive.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[quote name='mike_l' timestamp='1334758800' post='3158338']
[quote name='Kezia' timestamp='1334758269' post='3158334']
So I just started playing this game last week and I'm wondering what would be the best deck to further understand the game with? By the way, this game is awesome.
[/quote]

Since you are a beginner, it's better if you use a deck like Kagero or Royal Paladins. Both of these decks are not hard to use and they will improve your undestanding of the game, so you can later use more complicated decks. Now about the prices, Kagero is really cheap, but Royal Paladin is quite expensive.
[/quote]

The deck I started playing with was Royal Paladin with my friend.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[quote name='Kezia' timestamp='1334758912' post='3158341']
[quote name='mike_l' timestamp='1334758800' post='3158338']
[quote name='Kezia' timestamp='1334758269' post='3158334']
So I just started playing this game last week and I'm wondering what would be the best deck to further understand the game with? By the way, this game is awesome.
[/quote]

Since you are a beginner, it's better if you use a deck like Kagero or Royal Paladins. Both of these decks are not hard to use and they will improve your undestanding of the game, so you can later use more complicated decks. Now about the prices, Kagero is really cheap, but Royal Paladin is quite expensive.
[/quote]

The deck I started playing with was Royal Paladin with my friend.
[/quote]

Ok, Royal Paladins is a good deck to start with, just keep in mind, that if you want a complete Royal Paladin deck it's gonna cost you enough money. With Kagero, you get the basic stuff out of the Trial deck.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
[quote name='mike_l' timestamp='1334759548' post='3158348']
[quote name='Kezia' timestamp='1334758912' post='3158341']
[quote name='mike_l' timestamp='1334758800' post='3158338']
[quote name='Kezia' timestamp='1334758269' post='3158334']
So I just started playing this game last week and I'm wondering what would be the best deck to further understand the game with? By the way, this game is awesome.
[/quote]

Since you are a beginner, it's better if you use a deck like Kagero or Royal Paladins. Both of these decks are not hard to use and they will improve your undestanding of the game, so you can later use more complicated decks. Now about the prices, Kagero is really cheap, but Royal Paladin is quite expensive.
[/quote]

The deck I started playing with was Royal Paladin with my friend.
[/quote]

Ok, Royal Paladins is a good deck to start with, just keep in mind, that if you want a complete Royal Paladin deck it's gonna cost you enough money. With Kagero, you get the basic stuff out of the Trial deck.
[/quote]

Oh for the most part I was only going to play this game online.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Well I'll assume you're playing JCG in which case there are dozens of decks to choose from, I mean there are decks who's card interactions are less that of other decks, but those decks are usually weaker.
If you want to understand the game before you get into more difficult decktypes, play a deck full of simple units, and simple card interactions like set 2 Nova Grapplers. I'm not sure at what point you'll feel comfortable with the game, you can watch other people play, though be wary as CFC is full of trash.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I was planning on getting CFC today then watching some of you guys play your games to help me understand more. I also plan on talking to some other players to get even more help.

Thanks for the feedback guys!
1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Everyone on DGz who plays CFC frequently is good. Donnie is a meta-whore apparently and Sab fucks with them tier 2 decks. So yeah, good help all around.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.