Jump to content
Forlum

Advanced Heraldry Art

Recommended Posts

Forlum    9162
[img]http://images1.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20121104034947/yugioh/images/6/64/AdvancedHeraldryArt-ABYR-EN-R-1E.png[/img]

AHA, a pretty unique card, it can make any Rank 4 XYZ for very little set-up. Ignored because A) it only had two really terrible monsters it worked with, and B) running shitty monsters to enable an easy Rank 4 wasn't exactly worth it.

Cosmo Blazer brings some things to the table. (To be honest, they are all pretty mediocre but have some interesting interactions.)

Heraldic Beast Leo
Level 4/EARTH/Beast
2000/1000
[i]During the End Phase, if this card was Normal Summoned this turn: Destroy it. When this card is sent to the Graveyard: Add 1 "Heraldic Beast" monster from your Deck to your hand, except "Heraldic Beast Leo". You can only use this effect of "Heraldic Beast Leo" once per turn.[/i]

Leo has the Dandylion of search effects, and an attack stat to get over shit like Rai-oh or Geargiarmor or what have you. Since Leo works when detached as a XYZ material, he ties in nicely with AHA. Leo searches to fuel AHA which in turn makes Leo fuel for an XYZ as well as search out further Heraldic Beasts.

Heraldic Beast Unicorn
Level 4/LIGHT/Beast
1100/1600
[i]You can banish this card from your Graveyard to target 1 Psychic-Type Xyz Monster in your Graveyard; Special Summon that target. Its effects are negated. You can only use the effect of "Heraldic Beast Unicorn" once per turn.[/i]

There are only three Psychic XYZs at the moment. Heraldic King, a 2400 anti-XYZ XYZ, Heraldic God, a 2600 anti-XYZ XYZ, (And some Chronomaly thing thats Rank 3 so they can't summon it). Basically get out one of their theme XYZs and revive, revive, revive.

They have a Themed Monster Reborn with no cost, and a bunch of other sub-par monsters.
-They're mostly Beast/Winged Beast with one Dragon so that means access to shit like Disorderly March, HOTPB, Icarus Attack, Diawolf
-They are LIGHT, EARTH and WIND, which means they can make everything from Albverditch to Lightening Plover.

tl;dr: some bad theme got some cool cards that search, toolbox and spam rank 4s decently
  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Forlum    9162
The rulings imply if you don't respond to the activation of AHA, the next thing you would be responding to is an attempted XYZ summon. There is no in-between.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Forest    311
I'm wondering if the XYZ summon is by the effect of Heraldry or if it's considered its own XYZ summon? This could play some importance when considering whether to use Solemn Warning/Judgment. ie. If the XYZ summon is NOT by the effect of Heraldry, you could wait to see what your opponent summons when deciding to use Warning. This is also relevant for Thunder King Raioh. Since the card says 'after this card resolves,' I'm guessing it's considered an inherent XYZ summon?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
dexer008    805
[quote name='Revision' timestamp='1352941742' post='3325468']I'm wondering if the XYZ summon is by the effect of Heraldry or if it's considered its own XYZ summon? This could play some importance when considering whether to use Solemn Warning/Judgment. ie. If the XYZ summon is NOT by the effect of Heraldry, you could wait to see what your opponent summons when deciding to use Warning. This is also relevant for Thunder King Raioh. Since the card says 'after this card resolves,' I'm guessing it's considered an inherent XYZ summon?[/quote]

That would be correct I think. If it says resolves, it means the cards effect is no longer happening, so you xyz summoning afterwards would be a inherent summon.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Forlum    9162
The XYZ summon is it's own seperate summon.[list]
[*]The [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Special_Summon"]Special Summon[/url] of the 2 monsters [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Target"]targeted[/url] by "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Advanced_Heraldry_Art"]Advanced Heraldry Art[/url]" cannot be negated by "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Solemn_Judgment"]Solemn Judgment[/url]". Also, at the time the 2 monsters [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Special_Summon"]Special Summoned[/url] by the effect of "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Advanced_Heraldry_Art"]Advanced Heraldry Art[/url]" are used as [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Xyz_Material"]Xyz Materials[/url] for an [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Xyz_Summon"]Xyz Summon[/url], "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Solemn_Judgment"]Solemn Judgment[/url]" or "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Solemn_Warning"]Solemn Warning[/url]" can be activated and negate that [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Xyz_Summon"]Xyz Summon[/url]. In that case, they are not activated in a chain to "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Advanced_Heraldry_Art"]Advanced Heraldry Art[/url]", but rather in a new chain immediatly in response to the attempted [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Xyz_Summon"]Xyz Summon[/url] after "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Advanced_Heraldry_Art"]Advanced Heraldry Art[/url]" finishes resolving as chain 1. ("[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Solemn_Judgment"]Solemn Judgment[/url]" and similar cards become the chain 1 that responds to the [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Xyz_Summon"]Xyz Summon[/url]). Furthermore, "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Solemn_Judgment"]Solemn Judgment[/url]" or "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Solemn_Warning"]Solemn Warning[/url]" can be activated in a chain to the activation of "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Advanced_Heraldry_Art"]Advanced Heraldry Art[/url]".[sup][url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Advanced_Heraldry_Art#cite_note-1"][2][/url][/sup]
[/list][list]
[*]When "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Advanced_Heraldry_Art"]Advanced Heraldry Art[/url]" is activated, after [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Special_Summon"]Special Summoning[/url] the 2 [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Target"]targeted[/url] monsters with its effect, an [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Xyz_Summon"]Xyz Summon[/url] using those 2 [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Special_Summon"]Special Summoned[/url] monsters is performed immediatly. Therefore, if the effect of "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Summon_Limit"]Summon Limit[/url]" is being applied, "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Advanced_Heraldry_Art"]Advanced Heraldry Art[/url]" cannot be activated during a turn in which a [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Normal_Summon"]Normal Summon[/url] has already been performed. Also, if "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Advanced_Heraldry_Art"]Advanced Heraldry Art[/url]" is activated during a turn in which a [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Normal_Summon"]Normal Summon[/url] has been performed and "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Summon_Limit"]Summon Limit[/url]" is chained, the effect of "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Advanced_Heraldry_Art"]Advanced Heraldry Art[/url]" that [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Special_Summon"]Special Summons[/url] the 2 [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Target"]targeted[/url] monsters does resolve, but the effect that performs an [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Xyz_Summon"]Xyz Summon[/url] using the 2 [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Summon"]Summoned[/url] monsters doesn't resolve.[sup][url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Advanced_Heraldry_Art#cite_note-2"][3][/url][/sup]
[/list][list]
[*]After the 2 [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Target"]targeted[/url] monsters are [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Special_Summon"]Special Summoned[/url] by the effect of "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Advanced_Heraldry_Art"]Advanced Heraldry Art[/url]", since a [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Xyz_Summon"]Xyz Summon[/url] using those 2 [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Summon"]Summoned[/url] monsters as [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Xyz_Material"]Xyz Materials[/url] is performed immediatly afterwards, it is treated as performing 2 [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Special_Summon"]Special Summons[/url]. Therefore, if during a turn in which you have activated the effect of "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Maxx_%22C%22"]Maxx "C"[/url]" the opponent activates "[url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Advanced_Heraldry_Art"]Advanced Heraldry Art[/url]", [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Special_Summon"]Special Summoning[/url] 2 monsters and then performing an [url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Xyz_Summon"]Xyz Summon[/url], you can draw 2 cards.[sup][url="http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Advanced_Heraldry_Art#cite_note-3"][4][/url][/sup]
[/list]

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Canadian    701
[center][img]http://images4.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20110305073719/yugioh/images/thumb/9/97/DragonRavineSDDL-EN-C-1E.png/300px-DragonRavineSDDL-EN-C-1E.png[/img][/center]

I considered playing this for Heraldic Beasts. You can pitch Leo and still get it's effect off at the same time you dump Aberconway. Then you search for another Aberconway and protect it. If it stays on the field, next turn you can summon something else and Xyz, or if it dies, you can use it's effect from the Graveyard and add back Leo and search for something else next turn! You could also run triple terraforming to get to it and Summoner Monk to ditch the dead Spells and summon out even more Heraldic Beasts.

If only that wasn't terrible....

As it stands right now, Leo is the only good Heraldic Beast. All the others are subpar (maybe not so much for Aberconway) and do not flow well together. I feel like they are one or two good support monsters away from making a great Rank 4 engine that could focus on filling up the Graveyard and performing Xyz summons (sort of like Vayu turbo).

Most of the other Heraldic cards are situational in the sense that they do not stand well on their own, and when combo'd with the other Heraldic Beasts, the pay-off to too minimal. Right now, Advanced Heraldry Art looks great on paper, but with the current pool of monsters we have, we won't be seeing it card being played competitively any time soon.
  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×