Jump to content
Guru

Traptrix trap hole nightmare rulings

Recommended Posts

Guru    736

So what exactly are the Traptrix trap hole nightmare rulings now it's really confusing.  I heard it was changed after the reprint errata or something.

Example:

Player A summons Infernoid Devyaty and activates effect.  Player B chains TTHN.  Players A chains Void Seer.  Player B chains BTH.  Will Devyaty have its effect negated?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Latios    20

The chain would go backwards. Bottomless Trap Hole would resolve first, then Void Seer would cancel out TTHN, which will lastly mean that Infernoid Devyaty's effect will trigger.

  • Downvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
»Pharaoh Atem    15769

The chain would go backwards. Bottomless Trap Hole would resolve first, then Void Seer would cancel out TTHN, which will lastly mean that Infernoid Devyaty's effect will trigger.


This is wrong in several ways.

Player A banishes monsters to summon Devyaty and declares intent to Summon Devyaty
Player A gets chance when Devyaty would be Summoned to activate as CL1 an effect that would negate the Summon
Player A declines
Player B gets same chance at same time
Player B declines
Both declined, therefore declared Summon is performed
Devyaty is placed
Summon complete, Devyaty's optional trigger effect is triggered here, effect's possessor chooses to activate it

CL1 Turn Player Devyaty Trigger Effect
CL2 Opponent TTHN
CL3 TP Void Seer target Devyaty
CL4 Opp BTH
CL5 none

Destroy Devyaty, and if you do, banish it - BTH CL4
Do not apply Void Seer, because the card targeted is no longer "1 "Infernoid" monster you control" - Void Seer CL3
Negate effect that would be applied while resolving CL1 - TTHN CL2
Do not apply Devyaty Trigger Effect, because this effect is negated by CL2 - Devyaty CL1
  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
SQUIDS~    381

The chain would go backwards. Bottomless Trap Hole would resolve first, then Void Seer would cancel out TTHN, which will lastly mean that Infernoid Devyaty's effect will trigger.

This is wrong in several ways.

Player A banishes monsters to summon Devyaty and declares intent to Summon Devyaty
Player A gets chance when Devyaty would be Summoned to activate as CL1 an effect that would negate the Summon
Player A declines
Player B gets same chance at same time
Player B declines
Both declined, therefore declared Summon is performed
Devyaty is placed
Summon complete, Devyaty's optional trigger effect is triggered here, effect's possessor chooses to activate it

CL1 Turn Player Devyaty Trigger Effect
CL2 Opponent TTHN
CL3 TP Void Seer target Devyaty
CL4 Opp BTH
CL5 none

Destroy Devyaty, and if you do, banish it - BTH CL4
Do not apply Void Seer, because the card targeted is no longer "1 "Infernoid" monster you control" - Void Seer CL3
Negate effect that would be applied while resolving CL1 - TTHN CL2
Do not apply Devyaty Trigger Effect, because this effect is negated by CL2 - Devyaty CL1

Wait wait wait..
A straightforward answer? What? Are you okay?
  • Upvote 2
  • Downvote 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
»Pharaoh Atem    15769

 

 

The chain would go backwards. Bottomless Trap Hole would resolve first, then Void Seer would cancel out TTHN, which will lastly mean that Infernoid Devyaty's effect will trigger.

This is wrong in several ways.

Player A banishes monsters to summon Devyaty and declares intent to Summon Devyaty
Player A gets chance when Devyaty would be Summoned to activate as CL1 an effect that would negate the Summon
Player A declines
Player B gets same chance at same time
Player B declines
Both declined, therefore declared Summon is performed
Devyaty is placed
Summon complete, Devyaty's optional trigger effect is triggered here, effect's possessor chooses to activate it

CL1 Turn Player Devyaty Trigger Effect
CL2 Opponent TTHN
CL3 TP Void Seer target Devyaty
CL4 Opp BTH
CL5 none

Destroy Devyaty, and if you do, banish it - BTH CL4
Do not apply Void Seer, because the card targeted is no longer "1 "Infernoid" monster you control" - Void Seer CL3
Negate effect that would be applied while resolving CL1 - TTHN CL2
Do not apply Devyaty Trigger Effect, because this effect is negated by CL2 - Devyaty CL1

Wait wait wait..
A straightforward answer? What? Are you okay?

 

 

people bitch more often about my answers being thorough and covering every last single detail possible than they bitch about my answers being filled with questions and riddles. "straightforward and exhaustively thorough" is what people dislike, because they either don't want to spend time learning things, or I cover shit they already think they know well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guru    736

Thanks a lot Atem.  Glad to know I ruled it correctly at locals :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/25/2019 at 2:29 PM, Triton113 said:

Bottomless trap hole cannot be used to chain to void seer.

Pardon me but why are u necroing an almost 4-year-old thread? To add nothing of substance or accuracy for that matter

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
BuildTheWalia    252
On 2/27/2019 at 7:36 AM, TheGoldenTyranno said:

Pardon me but why are u necroing an almost 4-year-old thread? To add nothing of substance or accuracy for that matter

Because Bottomless Trap Hole cannot be used to chain to Void Seer.

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, BuildTheWalia said:

Because Bottomless Trap Hole cannot be used to chain to Void Seer.

So Atem ruled it wrong?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×