Jump to content
Mr Dragon

Cyber Dragon Core/Mandatory Effect

Recommended Posts

Mr Dragon    312

If a player normal summons Cyber Dragon Core, does its trigger effect still activate, even if there are no "Cyber" Spell/Trap cards in the deck? Does the effect activate but resolve without effect, or should the player simply declare that Core can't activate because it can't resolve?

 

(Obviously in either case the opponent would be allowed to verify there are no Cyber Spell/Trap Cards in the deck before the duel continues).

 

In other words, if that Cyber Dragon Core would be sent to the graveyard later in the turn, could the player, (the other conditions are correct) then activate Cyber Dragon Core's other effect to summon a "Cyber Dragon" monster from the deck?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
»Noelle    5848

mandatory effects always act regardless if they can resolve unless a card specifically says that a card effect "cannot be activated"

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
»Noelle    5848

and by "cannot be activated" I mean that's literally what the card has to say

 

what does that mean?

 

gy effs can't act under soul drain even if mandatory BUT

 

an effect that is mandatory and banishes something still activates under iron wall

  • Upvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Dirk    1956

Silly question perhaps, but does core count as cyber dragon if you set it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Muntz    52

Silly question perhaps, but does core count as cyber dragon if you set it?

No as set cards have no effect.

  • Upvote 2
  • Downvote 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Marco    0

I have a question. Would cyber dragon core still count as a cyber dragon while it is removed from play? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
BuildTheWalia    260
1 hour ago, Marco said:

I have a question. Would cyber dragon core still count as a cyber dragon while it is removed from play? 

"This card's name becomes "Cyber Dragon" while on the field or in the GY.", so no.

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×