NB96

Toadally Awesome

NB96    779

I didn't see a Single Card Discussion thread for this card surprisingly. I've been doing some testing on Devpro with various different Treatoad lists so I'm not an expert but I thought it would be worth sharing some thoughts. The card comes out in Invasion: Vengeance (6/11/16). So that's a week or two after YCS Liverpool in the UK. I thought the card seemed really interesting as I slowly get back into the online scene of the game after a break for most of the year.

Toadally Awesome
ToadallyAwesome.jpg?ssl=1&utm_source=rss

2 Level 2 Aqua-type Monsters

(1) Once per turn, during the Standby Phase: You can detach 1 Xyz Material from this card; Special Summon 1 “Frog” monster from your Deck, except “Frog the Jam”.
(2) Once per turn, during either player’s turn, when your opponent activates a Spell/Trap Card or monster effect: You can send 1 Aqua-Type monster from your hand or face-up from your field to the Graveyard; negate that activation, and if you do, destroy the activated card, then you can Set the destroyed card on your side of the field.
(3) If this card is sent to the Graveyard: You can target 1 WATER monster in your Graveyard; add that monster to your hand.
2200/0

I imagine everybody is already aware about this card but I was just doing some thinking about the impact it could have on the meta. The card is pretty difficult to bait out because it steals the card it negates, so for example a Raigeki wouldn't be a good choice to bait unless you had an OTK as well, otherwise they will take your own Raigeki and use it against you, forcing you to play around it and make strange lines of play that probably aren't ideal. But that's not the main point of the post, I want to talk about how it may impact the meta, and what decks it might be used in.