JC.

JC Goes to Lolcals

»JC.    4973

Backstory: I've played Yu-Gi-Oh! on and off since I was a kid. Last stopped playing during December 2015 format. Found some kids at my school that played and decided to get back in. My play group has a collective total of 0 dimensional barriers, so I decided Fluffals would be a good deck.

One of them is graduating, so they wanted to go to lolcals with some of the group. I estimated that lolcals would have a collective total of 3 dimensional barriers, and I'm a college student, so I decided Fluffals were in fact roughly 50/55 cards I owned.

The card shop I previously played at closed down, so I knew it would be a new crowd. I happened to have DSOD sleeves, so I decided before the tournament that I would use them and pretend to have no idea what any of the cards were.

A few hours before, I run a practice match with my friend, trying out lines like, "Wow, using XYZ monsters? I guess they're pretty strong, since you don't even need Polymerization" and, "Eh? It says here you need a Tuner monster, but how did you have one on the field without Tune World?" We also decide that playmats are for tryhards. We discuss whether Starter Deck 2017 is the optimal playmat and decide that it loses out to Paper Towels.

This is the first time I've gone to a tournament in a while, so I figured I'd post because 'why not'.

Decklist:

BIjQApu.jpg

A locals report is probably not even worth talking about, so I want to talk about the deck a bit and maybe get a discussion going.

Maindeck: I've been running Fusion Substitute at 1 with 2 Poly, but realise that I want to just OTK people and Sabre-Tooth brings back the only fusion monsters that would hit my grave, so I swapped it out for 3 Poly. I don't own Foolish Burial Goods, so I had to run without it. Good card, should probably be running 3.