Jump to content
knives1990

Dragonic Diagram, True Draco Rulings

Recommended Posts

knives1990    262

Two separate questions here

 

1. If I control Dragonic Diagram, can I activate its effect, chain Mystical Space Typhoon targeting a spell/trap, then destroy that Mystical Dpace Typhoon with Diagram to search?

 

2. Can I tribute facedown continuous spells/traps to tribute summon True Draco monsters?

 

explanations with the answers would be much appreciated

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
»JC.    5325

(a)

CL1: Dragonic Diagram's effect is activated.

CL2: Mystical Space Typhoon is activated, targeting a spell/trap card that is not Dragonic Diagram.

 

the chain resolves backwards

CL2: Mystical Space Typhoon destroys the targeted spell/trap. Because the chain has not yet resolved, it is not sent to the graveyard.

CL1: Dragonic Diagram destroys 1 card in your hand or that you control. Since MST is on the field, you may choose to destroy it. MST is sent to the graveyard and one "True Draco" or "True King" card is added from your deck to your hand.

After this, the chain is done resolving. Both players have the chance to activate a SS2 or higher effect before returning to an open game state.

 

(b)

Yes.

Related Entry: You can tribute a set monster for Icarus Attack.

  • Upvote 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
P0j0426    4

That related entry of Icarus attack actually has a problem relating to the true dracos.
The true dracos state a continuous trap you control yet Icarus attack does not state control. If Icarus attack did say the word "control" then you would be unable to tribute face down monsters. Same with the virus and majespecter cards

Edited by P0j0426
  • Downvote 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The_Be(a)sT    968

you can use face-down monster for a fusion summon

you can special summon gladiator beast monsters by using face-down gladiator beasts, 
you can tribute a set spellcaster monster for Blizzard Princess,

you can tribute a set monster vor viruses and for icarus attack. 

You can tribute set continuous spell/trap cards for True Draco cards. 

Edited by The_Be(a)sT

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
DAD 4 GAME    46
4 hours ago, P0j0426 said:

That related entry of Icarus attack actually has a problem relating to the true dracos.
The true dracos state a continuous trap you control yet Icarus attack does not state control. If Icarus attack did say the word "control" then you would be unable to tribute face down monsters. Same with the virus and majespecter cards

 

Have you ever read the rulebook before? Regardless of whether a card says to tribute a monster you "control" or not is irrelevant considering to tribute, by definition, is to send a monster you control to the graveyard, unless explicitly stated otherwise on the card. You can also tribute set cards, by definition, unless the card explicitly states otherwise.

Furthermore, to control a card is simply to have it in your Monster Zone, Spell & Trap Zone, Field Zone, or Pendulum Zone. Whether a card is face-down or not is irrelevant; if it is on your side of the  field, you control it.

 

Before posting idiotic answers, read the rulebook. You can find it here: http://www.yugioh-card.com/en/rulebook/EN_SDSE_Rulebook.pdf
Page 49 defines "Control" and "Possess."

"Cards you “control” are the cards in your Monster Zone, Spell & Trap Zone, Field Zone, and Pendulum Zone. Cards in your “possession” include all cards you control, plus the cards in your hand, Deck, Extra Deck, Graveyard, your banished cards, cards in the middle of being Summoned to your side of the field, and Xyz Materials attached to monsters you control. If a player takes control of a card from their opponent, move it to the new controller’s side of the field. If sent to the Graveyard, or returned to the hand or Deck, it is always returned to the Graveyard / hand / Deck of the original owner."
Page 51 defines "Tribute."
"Tributing is sending a monster you control to the Graveyard. You can Tribute a face-up or face-down monster, unless otherwise specified. Tributing a monster is one possible cost for Summoning a monster or activating an effect. A monster sent to the Graveyard by Tributing is not treated as “destroyed.”"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

×