Sign in to follow this  
Conspire

I need help with my Mac

Conspire    2391

So I'm a pretty big noob when it comes to computers which is the reason I tend to use Mac products.  My level of tech expertise is "workplace god" because I can use excel/word, change which printer is being used and know how to email files to myself.  However my general knowledge would probably be laughable to most of you.  

A year or two ago I bought my brother's Mac when he was moving.  My needs are pretty simple and I just like to have something that's reliable and won't get viruses.  I tend to just work with things as they are, so I left most of what he had going on and just erased favourites and replaced them, etc.

He had the Mac bootcamped, which to my understanding means the hard drive is split 50/50 amongst Windows/Mac software.  I've been operating mostly on windows but have been running into some problems lately.  There's a lot of things I feel like I should be able to do that aren't working.  Things like moving videos/pictures from my computer to my phone, using iMovie, upgrading the software on the Mac side, upgrading iTunes on the windows side, playing Hearthstone on the Mac side and trying to install anything on the windows side.  Little inconveniences that are adding up and limiting what I can do on the computer.

I'm thinking what I should do is just start with a clean slate and have the computer be just a Mac with no windows bootcamp.  I'm not exactly sure how I would go about this.  I guess I would probably need to get the admin password from my brother too.  My guess is that I would back up my files onto a CD or something and just restore system defaults on the computer?  If I go down this road, what's the best thing to do?  Do you think I"m wrong in wanting to do this?

Things I use/would like to use the computer for:

- streaming

- basic web surfing (dgz, reddit, gmail, online banking, that sort of stuff)