Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
NB96

Advice on finding video editing software?

9 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

Was thinking of trying my hand at creating my own video but I know very little about video editing.

I need a software which can do the following things: combine multiple video files saved on my laptop into one longer video; be able to shave off bits of a video (e.g. the first two or three seconds so I can remove the intros from the start or end). Additionally, ideally it would be user-friendly because as I said, I'm new to this. I'm pretty sure the stuff I want to do is fairly simple editing work though.

I assumed Windows Movie Maker would probably be able to do the things I mentioned, but I looked it up and apparently it was discontinued. Presumably it is ruled out for me in that case since I probably can't get it anymore.

Does anybody have advice for a program I could download safely and easily, and which could complete the tasks I outlined above? Any help is greatly appreciated!

Edited by NB96

Premiere pro is fantastic. There is a lot of material for learning and I always found it fairly simple and intuitive in general, free trials are available-
http://www.adobe.com/ca/products/premiere.html?sdid=KKQOM&mv=search&s_kwcid=AL!3085!3!193588457250!e!!g!!adobe premiere free trial&ef_id=VppS5AAABcJq4N14:20170525013157:s

I just googled a few and tried them out and the free sign up for WeVIdeo seems to have everything you're looking for (although 1 GB of cloud storage seems awful for a project). I'd say dick around with the free trial for a night, it seems like pretty good stuff and if you get your project done in under a month 5$ seems well worth it to use the suite.
https://www.wevideo.com/hub

There's also an awful watermark they put on your shit with WeVideo if you use the free trial, just a heads up.

Posted (edited)

Thanks, I'll try them out.