Sign in to follow this  
Aaron

Advice for younger people thread

Aaron    1966

Just thought I'd use this thread to drop a bit of advice to younger people. I'm in my late 20s now.  I'm a doctor, sit around 8-9% body fat in good shape, I've had relationships with quite a few beautiful women but I have so many regrets and learning points for time which I feel won't come back. No ones perfect and I could probably list 1000 positives about my life and myself and 1000 negatives. Everythings a double edges sword.

Be confident, ambitious and independant.. you'll probably bang loads of girls, have lots of money and have the freedom to go anywhere with no worries. The drawback? Well you might lose a lot of friends along the way because you let them go easily and don't stay in touch, you might be a bit too maerialistic, you might struggle to hold down long term relationships.  So yeah, always have balance. 

Anyway big advice areas:

1. Study and find a job you know you'll love and make sure you love it. 

As a doctor I've studied a lot and been quite lucky. However do I enjoy my job? Sometimes, maybe a lot of the time but there are jobs I'm probably better suited for in all honesty. I like work but being a doctor is a vocation, its a life style. In the Emergency department I worked the following shifts throughout 4 months: 8 to 4, 9 to 5, 7PM til 3AM, 5PM til 1AM, 8PM to 8AM, 12PM til 12AM, 11AM til 11PM, 1PM to 1AM and I can say its fucking hard. The work is fine, I'm quite good at it but the hours and the effect is has on your social life is really brutal at times. 

2. Work out, stay healthy, look after your flexibility and aim for longevity in the gym.