Sign in to follow this  
Bazoo

Foreign vs. American and my first car

Bazoo    5674

so basically I've been looking for my first car pretty much all summer. my parents say they'll pay for pretty much anything 1500 or less (I'm not a spoiled kid, this is basically the hugest favor they'll ever do for me. "maybe" a little tuition for my first year).

So yesterday I show him two cars that popped up on the same day (I've been looking for a while): A 1997 Buick Riviera with a 92,000 miles for 1300, and a 1999 Kia Sephia with about 100,000 for 1400. now I'm not a huge expert with cars but these both are valued at about 1.2k less than the average private party (and that's if it's in bad shape, both ads say the run great).

Now I'll be crazy happy with either one, but what I've heard generally is that Japanese cars are built better than American and get more mpg. However, my dad does NOT want to buy a Japanese car, basically because he works at GM (big car company, doing bad now). I tried to explain to him that because it's a used car, it's not going to fucking matter, the money goes to the economy either way. My questions are:

1. Would that Kia be a better deal? Does the Japanese > American policy extend back to '99?

2. Is there some other disadvantage to buying a foreign car? i.e. is it harder to repair or something?

3. Are they good deals?

he already called twice on the Riviera, it was still in the paper today, but a speedy answer would be appreciated.

Model    864

Don't go for either, honestly just wait. More options will become available even with that price tag.

+rei+    34352

Always go for the Japanese -

THAT SAID

Kia is Korean and shitty

»...Arson    7755

Do not go Japanese of you don't have to.

Why? Because if they do breakdown and (as it is your first car and you're buying it used) it probably will eventually, the cost to fix it is ridiculously higher because they have to import all of the parts.