Jump to content

bilaterus

~The Organization~
  • Content count

    12
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

41 You're a random

About bilaterus

  • Rank
    Plain Old Duelist

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male

Recent Profile Visitors

814 profile views
  1. Math Q

    We can also just work out the chance of getting at most 1 of each BA directly. http://prntscr.com/bl99i9 Subtracting the answer from 100% would give us the chance of getting at least 2 of at least 1 BA if we wanted, and this agrees with Allen's answer.
  2. Current Rulings Announcements

    The official page itself is a bit rushed and sparse, but the implication is that the TCG now follows the OCG Damage Step. This may well mean things like: Bounzer cannot be used during the Damage Step, changes to Jurrac Guaiba crash rulings, etc.    I will keep this thread updated with the major changes as agreed upon by the ruling authorities. Watch this space.   Edit: Ok, 4 major changes. I detailed them in the OP. Also, the relevant YGOrg articles have been updated, so you can refer to them as well for the full picture.
  3. Current Rulings Announcements

    Updated with the official Damage Step. Honest during damage calc is now a no go.
  4. Dueling Network

    By the way, we discussed this and overturned the ban.    Using DN publicly to make money is of course unacceptable, but we can't and won't police people's private or off-site arrangements. (Obviously we won't enforce any payments either).
  5. Dueling Network

    Edit: Woops, misinterpreted the post.    Fun fact: that guy got an 8 on the admin exam.
  6. Compiled here are all of the best and most essential rulings resources needed to bring your knowledge of the game up to scratch. If you want to look up a particular area of rulings, you can find it here. There are also quizzes throughout to test your knowledge. If you're interested in studying rulings systematically, try my Demystifying Rulings Series at YGOrganization.    The Fundamentals [spoiler]The Yugioh TCG Rulebook Yugioh is a highly complex game, and the rulebook is the perfect starting point to understanding how the game works. It covers the basics of chaining, spell speeds, and the different types of monster effects.   Introducing Pendulum Monsters! Summary of Pendulum Summons These articles explain how Pendulum cards work and behave in detail.   Rulebook Quiz Rulebook Quiz 2[/spoiler]   Problem-Solving Card Text [spoiler]Here are Konami's Articles explaining PSCT (the first two articles of the series aren't as important and are not linked here): PSCT 3 - Conditions, Activations, and Effects PSCT 4 - Clues on the Cards PSCT 5 - Special Summons PSCT 6 - Further Clues on the Cards PSCT 7 - Conjunction Functions PSCT Quiz PSCT Quiz 2[/spoiler]   Konami Policy and Judge Documents [spoiler]Here are the links to the Policy Docs:   Konami Yugioh Tournament Policy Konami General Tournament Policy Konami Penalty Guidelines   The following link above is important for players and judges alike, as it explains which questions a judge can and cannot answer, and thus, which questions you can and cannot ask as a player. Questions a Judge Should and Should Not Answer   The following articles are written in a Magic: The Gathering context; however, the philosophies remain the same for Yugioh: Shortcut it Out: An explanation of shortcut usage Investigations Part 1 - The Search for Collateral Truths Investigations Part 2 - Risk vs Reward Investigations Part 3 - Terminating an Investigation   Trublu Caribou's Policy Quiz[/spoiler]   Optional "When" Effects  This mechanic is also (but should not be) known as "missing timing". [spoiler]Some effects cannot if their triggers are not the last thing to occur. You can view the official explanation on this mechanic here:   This article by Joe Frankino explains the above mechanic in further detail. [/spoiler]   Simultaneous Effects Go On Chain  [spoiler]SEGOC is what occurs when multiple effects are triggered at the same time, and dictates in what order these effects will be placed on the chain. This article explains SEGOC in detail. Chain Mechanics Quiz[/spoiler]   Fast Effect Timing [spoiler]Fast effect timing is the set of rules governing which player and effects have the right to act at any given time. This article explains Fast Effect Timing in detail.   Here is Konami's article on Fast Effect Timing:  Fast Effect Timing   It's probably a good idea to bookmark the chart separately.[/spoiler]   The Battle Phase and Damage Step [spoiler]A battle between monsters in Yugioh is actually extremely complex.   This article gives an introduction to the Battle Phase in general. This article gives an introduction to the Damage Step.   That Wacky Damage Step! Only certain types of effect can be activated in the Damage Step. This link explains exactly which effects can be activated in more detail.   Damage Step and End Phase Quiz (note: the End Phase questions are outdated and can be ignored)[/spoiler]   Negation [spoiler]This article explains some rulings to do with negating activations and effects.[/spoiler]   Move Legality [spoiler]This article explains some rulings to do with legality of activations and Summons.[/spoiler]   The Game State, Verifications, and ATK Modifiers [spoiler]This article explains some rulings to do with these topics.[/spoiler]
  7. Current Rulings Announcements

    General and common game mechanics/rulings will be covered in a different place. The purpose of this article in particular is to focus on current hot topics that are particularly relevant to general play. 
  8. If you need to know about specific interactions or individual rulings involving cards that are extremely popular, this thread should be your first port of call. Feel free to make suggestions on topics to cover here.   The Damage Step: Honest, Bounzer, and Other Changes [spoiler]The structure of the Damage Step has officially changed. Important facts about the Damage Step now include:  Honest CANNOT be used during damage calculation. Honest must be used before damage calculation, like other ATK/DEF Modifiers.Effects like Trag, RDA, D.D. Warrior Lady, and Ryko all form a Chain after damage calculation.  Bounzer, and other negation effects that do not negate activations, cannot be used in the Damage Step. Only Monster Effects that negate activations may be used.If Guaiba crashes into another Guaiba (or kills a Ryko, etc), its effect can no longer activate.    You can see the Konami article on the Damage Step here, and you can see YGOrganization articles explaining the Damage Step here and here. [/spoiler]     Lose 1 Turn [spoiler]L1T's effect negation is continuous: its effect to negate has no colon or semi-colon, so by the rules of PSCT, it does not start a Chain (as you can read here https://yugiohblog.konami.com/articles/?p=2947).This means that it will only negate effects of monsters that are face-up on the field when their effects resolve, the same way that Skill Drain works.    You can read more on this here: http://ygorganization.com/lose-1-turn-ruling/[/spoiler]   MST vs COTH vs Deneb [spoiler]Consider this situation:  CL1: MST CL2: COTH targeting Deneb   The question is whether Deneb's effect can be activated after the Chain resolves, despite the fact that it is no longer on the field at the time it would activate.    In North America, it would NOT activate. This specific ruling generalises to others of a similar nature (eg. if a BA monster is sent to the Graveyard as a cost, and is then banished at Chain Link 2, it may NOT activate).   However, this is only for effects which have an (implicit or explicit) location where they generally activate (eg. on field for monsters that need to be Summoned or flipped face-up, or in the Graveyard if it's written on the card). For monsters like Hieratic monsters that just need to be Tributed and don't specify a location, they will still activate.    In Europe, however, this ruling is different: whether the effect can activate or not depends solely on whether the monster is being returned to an area of public (field, Graveyard, banished) or private (hand, Deck) knowledge. So for example, Deneb would activate in the above situation, but an Atlantean monster returned to the Deck by The Transmigration Prophecy before it can activate would not be able to.   The full gory details can be found here: http://ygorganization.com/advanced-rulings-location-matters/ [/spoiler]   Stick and Chair [spoiler]Here is a full explanation of how to play the Star Seraph Stick (Scepter) and Chair (Sovereignty) combo, with the relevant rulings explained along the way.    First, you Summon Stick. If this is by Normal (or Pendulum) Summon, you should ask the opponent if they wish to negate the Summon (and if the Summon is while a Chain is resolving, such as while Call of the Haunted is resolving), then of course they cannot negate the Summon).    If the Summon is successful, you then activate the effects of both Stick and the Chair in hand. You don't ask for a response after activating just Stick's effect, as Trigger Effects always go on the Chain first before players respond (read up on Fast Effect Timing for more details). In addition, Stick's and Chair's effects can be CL1 and CL2 in either order, as both are triggered by the exact same action (Stick's Summon).    After the Chain resolves, the added Chair checks that the original Chair was Summoned in the previous Chain, so the added Chair's effect can now activate. This is regardless of whether the added Chair was in the hand to 'see' the Summon or not (refer to the Fire King vs Generation Shift ruling). [/spoiler]
  9. Veiler vs Dracossack

    Activating the effect is still legal (as Veiler doesn't stop the effect being activated) but even if he does activate it and tribute itself, it's still an effect that activated on the field, so Veiler will still negate it.
  10. dress vs heavy infantry

    firstly, trigger effects always activate after the current chain resolves. this is important especially for atlantean monsters because it's important that they activate in the chain AFTER they've been discarded.   so, pike is chain link 1 (discarding infantry, who waits until this chain finishes before it activates) and so you can chain to pike with dress as chain link 2. then after that chain resolves, in a new one infantry would activate and couldn't target your monster but could target something else.   if you don't chain to pike and you let it resolve, then after infantry activates in the new chain as chain link 1 you can respond with dress targeting the same monster he did, to protect it.    the important thing is that pike resolves before infantry activates and targets, so make sure your opponent adds for pike before they target with infantry and you respond. don't rush these mermail-atlantean chains, especially if you want to activate something in response, because the order of activations and things is often important, and so you should make sure the chains are clear to both players to avoid getting into a mess in the game.
  11. I need a new display name

    Twilight Sparkle is Hot
  12. Yugi/Kaiba Fanfic.dek

    Given the wording of Maiden at time of writing, its second effect is a Trigger Effect and so would miss its timing practically every time it was targeted (as it would have to activate after the targeting effect resolves.)   The Organisation will fix its translation to show it is in fact a quick effect and can Chain to whatever targets it, including Tsukuyomi.
×