Sign in to follow this  
Gojira

Stock Market Investing

+Gojira    1706

I'm going to preface this by saying I'm a huge noob, as I have only started thinking about investing since I opened an account in March. However, I feel I've started to get the hang of certain strategies, but also that I am severely lacking in most areas of analysis/knowledge. Because of this, my thoughts will probably appear scattered.

To build my portfolio, I started by trying fundamental analysis, i.e. analyzing specific companies to see whether they were good long term investments. However, I quickly moved to focusing on technical analysis because it produces quicker results. Unfortunately my first investment (AAPL) turned out to be a huge mistake, because I underestimated the impact of a company's reports, even when the contents are basically known beforehand. My second investment (ABX) was aimed at taking advantage of fluctuating oil prices, planning on selling the stock quickly once it appeared to peak. If you look at ABX's history over the past few months, there have been multiple opportunities to buy and sell quickly. 

One thing I've tried to do is pay attention to daily fluctuations in prices when selling/buying to cover my transaction costs. For instance, over about a month, most stocks dipped in price significantly around 11:00 am, 1-2 hours after the market opened, regardless of where they were trending when the market opened.

Recently I made an investment in NVIDIA which I planned to be long term, but I basically chickened out as it wasn't stable enough for my liking. I still think it is likely a good investment now, despite having already increased dramatically this year. I'm going to be focusing on another account (in Voya investments) soon, as it's been losing money, which will be a very different experience having to use the different Voya portfolios.

If there's interest, here's my transaction history: